The controversy continues – ADD ADHD and Treatment — ADD Tip o the Day 492

Three good ADHD ADD posts:

These were so good, from Homey and Oren, and by Gina from Claire, I just wanted to copy them, but together they are too long, so I put excerpts and links  ( i highly recommend you read the whole articles):

comment from Homey:

homemakersdaily says:

I am SO glad to hear I’m not the only one who hates videos and webinars. I would rather READ than watch. So many of the news sites now are posting videos instead of articles. And you have to sit through an ad first! No way, Jose. I can’t do it. So I skip them. I have watched a few youtube videos but it’s hard. They have to be really good and I always try to find short ones.

Do you like going to the movie theater? I don’t like going. I feel trapped and claustrophobic. I usually get up a couple of times to go to the bathroom just to give myself a chance to get up and move. I don’t mind watching movies at home, though, because I can do other things while I watch.

I don’t always check my posts carefully enough, either. When I go through the old ones, I’m embarrassed at some of my mistakes. I do proofread – I just miss things.

I try to be positive about ADHD, too. I mean – I have it and I can’t make it go away so I may as well make the best of it. Strategies, like the ones in your book, make it a lot better.

Oren:

Who Isn’t on Ritalin These Days?

 The percentage of children estimated to actually have ADHD runs from 5 to 8%. With all these statistics in hand, we can finally answer the original question of who isn’t on ADHD medications:

97.5% of US children are not on ADHD medications.

50 to 80% of US children with ADHD are not on medications.

87% of US adults with ADHD are not on ADHD medications.

If you, like me, agree that ADHD medications are useful for a small proportion of the population, these numbers won’t strike you as outlandish.  And if you, like me, work every day with people who need treatment for ADHD, you will still probably find plenty of opportunity to fret over who does and who doesn’t benefit from medication every working day.

Physician specializing in diagnosis and management of attention deficit disorders and related conditions.

From claire and gina:

How Esquire Got ADHD Wrong

Lost in the shuffle: Accurate reporting on a critically important public health issue affecting millions of Americans.Never considered by the editors or the writer, Ryan D’Agostino: the story’s compounding of stigma already suffered by millions of children, teens, and adults with ADHD and the people who love them. Hammering on the themes of misdiagnosis and side effects, Esquire overblows these issues while delegitimizing the diagnosis itself and the medications often used to treat it.

Gina Pera is the author of the four-time award-winning bestseller Is It You, Me, or Adult A.D.D.? and the co-author of the upcomingADHD-Focused Couple Therapy: Clinical Interventions (Routledge, 2015)

These are the links, well worth reading the whole post:

Thank you Homey, Oren, Claire and Gina

doug

add,adhd,adult add,adult adhd,attention,deficit

ADD ADHD???

 

 

About doug with ADHD

I am a psychiatric physician. I learned I have ADHD at age 64, and then wrote two ADHD books for adults, focusing on strategies for making your life better. Your Life Can Be Better; strategies for adults with ADD/ADHD available at amazon.com, or smashwords.com (for e books) Living Daily With Adult ADD or ADHD: 365 Tips O the Day ( e-book). This is one tip at a time, one page at a time, at your own pace. It's meant to last a year. As a child, I was a bully. Then there was a transformation. Now I am committed to helping people instead abusing them. The Bully was published in January, 2016. It's in print or e book, on Amazon.
This entry was posted in add. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The controversy continues – ADD ADHD and Treatment — ADD Tip o the Day 492

  1. gina says:

    P.S. thanks for sharing that piece from Oren’s blog. I don’t know how I missed it. My subscription must not be working.

    Like

  2. gina says:

    HI Doug,

    Thanks for sharing my opinion piece.

    That Esquire story just had my Italian blood boiling! Especially because I am a journalist who has edited newspapers and magazines, I know the importance of accurate reporting and balance. These guys just flagrantly broke every journalistic rule in that regard. Outrageous!

    So, I decided if they were going to play it loose with the “watchdog” function of the news, I would “comment-bomb” the piece. No one is going to called Howard Glasser an “ADHD expert” and get away with it if I can help it! 🙂 So I jumped in to answer questions.

    The New York Observer editor appreciated my candor and command of the facts, and she asked me to write the opinion. I’m really grateful to the paper for wanting to correct the record!

    best,
    Gina

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

