I have ADD ADHD — ADD Tip o the Day 491

I have ADD ADHD,

my attention span is short, I’m not good at passive, I’m impatient,

so I don’t:

-read long posts

-watch u tubes

-listen to comcasts

-participate in webinars

-always document my sources when I post

-always check my posts carefully enough before I post them

But:

-I have gotten pretty competent with my i phone (the new one after I ran the other one through the wash).

-I’m not ashamed to acknowledge my diagnosis or label, or my limitations.

– I try to focus on my strengths, not my weaknesses.

-I find that making lists of things helps me organize.

I wonder which of these things you resonate with and which are different for you?

doug

add,adhd,adult add,adult adhd,attention,deficit

Simplify and focus

 bonus links from Terry Matlen and Oren Mason

on getting things done

Oren Mason on dangers of treatment and long discussion

 

 

About doug with ADHD

I am a psychiatric physician. I learned I have ADHD at age 64, and then wrote two ADHD books for adults, focusing on strategies for making your life better. Your Life Can Be Better; strategies for adults with ADD/ADHD available at amazon.com, or smashwords.com (for e books) Living Daily With Adult ADD or ADHD: 365 Tips O the Day ( e-book). This is one tip at a time, one page at a time, at your own pace. It's meant to last a year. As a child, I was a bully. Then there was a transformation. Now I am committed to helping people instead abusing them. The Bully was published in January, 2016. It's in print or e book, on Amazon.
This entry was posted in add, ADD problems or symptoms, adhd and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to I have ADD ADHD — ADD Tip o the Day 491

  1. gina says:

    Hi Doug and all,

    The videos mostly annoy me, too. Because most are not well-done. The “hosts” ramble and take too long to get to the point. The backgrounds are distracting. The sound quality mediocre. And the ads……

    Gina

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Pingback: homey and oren | ADDadultstrategies

  3. oren- thank you for your generous comment, and I notice that you’re out too.
    thanks for commenting
    doug

    Like

  4. homemakersdaily says:

    I am SO glad to hear I’m not the only one who hates videos and webinars. I would rather READ than watch. So many of the news sites now are posting videos instead of articles. And you have to sit through an ad first! No way, Jose. I can’t do it. So I skip them. I have watched a few youtube videos but it’s hard. They have to be really good and I always try to find short ones.

    Do you like going to the movie theater? I don’t like going. I feel trapped and claustrophobic. I usually get up a couple of times to go to the bathroom just to give myself a chance to get up and move. I don’t mind watching movies at home, though, because I can do other things while I watch.

    I don’t always check my posts carefully enough, either. When I go through the old ones, I’m embarrassed at some of my mistakes. I do proofread – I just miss things.

    I try to be positive about ADHD, too. I mean – I have it and I can’t make it go away so I may as well make the best of it. Strategies, like the ones in your book, make it a lot better.

    Liked by 2 people

    • Homey – thank you for the wonderful comment. I plan to use it as a blog. I’d
      forgotten about the blankety-blank adds. Yeah, that’s another reason I don’t watch things.

      Movies? I love them. I hate sitting through the blankety-blank commercials and all the trash you have to sit through in the theater but then I like the movies.Some movies need the big screen, but usually I just as soon sit at home and watch them on net flick with my own popcorn.
      And I also find that proofreading helps but it’s not perfect.
      thanks
      doug

      Like

  5. Doug, I think your willingness to share your diagnosis with others is a great gift to the ADHD community. To answer your actual question, though, I desperately hate to wait for videos to load. The Internet still works at text speed. Get over it, CNN.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

