ADD ADHD Improvement!!

More good stuff from Jerry Bair:

 

10 Ways ADHD Adults Can Improve Themselves In Just 10 Minutes A Day

 

Like many adult ADHDers, there are a million things I want to do or improve in my life. Eat healthier. Work out more. Clean up my inbox. Make a million dollars. Sometimes, I want to do them all at the same time.

Unfortunately, changing ten things at the same time never works. Why? Like many ADHDers know, this only leads to overwhelm, anxiety, and the epic FAIL.

A more sustainable approach is to start small and work your way up. By small, I’m talking ten minutes a day. Think it can’t be done? Below are ten ways you can improve an area of your life in just ten minutes a day.

1. Get fit, feel better, and gain more energy using Tony Horton’s 10-minute Trainer or with 10 minutes of your own favorite workout.

2. Control your impulses & reduce anxiety using Headspace Focus 10 Meditation.

3. Plan your days either first thing in the morning or the night before so you’re not creating unnecessary work for yourself.

4. Spend ten minutes a day playing the Email Game, a speedy, timed method for cleaning up your GMail inbox.

5. Go outside. Spending regular time outdoors is not only more mentally stimulating, but it also provides an outlet for releasing boundless energy. To add to that, it can reduce stress and help improve concentration.

6. Eat breakfast to give you more sustainable energy throughout the day. I’m a huge fan of oatmeal and pop tarts. Tim Ferriss’ has a cool YouTube video on how to make a healthy breakfast in less than 3 minutes. Check it out here.

7. De-clutter. You can tackle many messes in no time if you just dedicate a little time to them each day. I’ve done this with files on my PC as well as my filing cabinet. It saves time and stress when you’re looking for important things.

8. Train your brain with Lumosity. Lumosity’s games are geared toward cognitive development, take very little time, and can be used to boost working memory, focus, impulse control, attention span, and peripheral vision.

9. Simplify. I firmly believe in “work smarter, not harder.” If you can do something an easier way or delegate it, then do so. I automated my PC file cleanup using Belvedere, which deletes unused/unopened files after a specified time frame.

10. Use your natural gifts. ADHDers are intuitive, resilient, creative, and spontaneous. If you can find a continuously-stimulating career that allows you to use your gifts on a regular basis, you’ll be much, much happier.

The recurring theme here is to start small. Over time, small changes yield massive results. Plus, they help build consistency.

If you can put aside 10 minutes a day, even once or twice a week, on a consistent basis, you’ll be amazed at how much improvement you can make in your life.

For ADHD adults, consistency really is key. Start with 1 or 2 changes, get into a pattern, and either slowly add in additional changes or build on existing ones (e.g., workout for 15 minutes instead of 10). This is the surest way to prevent overwhelm.

Want to dominate your ADHD and use it to take your life to the next level? Check out ADHD Domination, a new video course designed to restore your focus, motivation, and self-control in less than 10 minutes a day for the next 30 days.

Jerry

 

Good Tips

doug

 

 

About doug with ADHD

I am a psychiatric physician. I learned I have ADHD at age 64, and then wrote two ADHD books for adults, focusing on strategies for making your life better. Your Life Can Be Better; strategies for adults with ADD/ADHD available at amazon.com, or smashwords.com (for e books) Living Daily With Adult ADD or ADHD: 365 Tips O the Day ( e-book). This is one tip at a time, one page at a time, at your own pace. It's meant to last a year. As a child, I was a bully. Then there was a transformation. Now I am committed to helping people instead abusing them. The Bully was published in January, 2016. It's in print or e book, on Amazon.
This entry was posted in add, ADD problems or symptoms, ADD strategies, adhd, dysfunctions, educate yourself and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to ADD ADHD Improvement!!

  1. homemakersdaily says:

    I’m a big believer in the power of 10 or 15 minutes. I have a really hard time keeping control of my desk but I want it to be clean and organizing. So I’ll set my timer for 5 minutes to see what I can do. I’m always amazed at how much I can do. Usually two 5 minute sessions take care of it.

    I was trying to drink more water and started with one glass a day and increased it by one glass a day over time. When I started exercising, I did only 10 minutes at a time. 15 minute segments can work miracles!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: Labeling? Do you want to be labeled? — ADD Tip o the Day 490 | ADDadultstrategies

Leave a Reply

