Overcoming Overwhelmed — ADD Tip o the Day 484

Structure: Routine,Schedule

With my ADD ADHD I need structure, which comes from routine and schedule.  Some people don’t like routine and schedule; it makes them feel confined and they prefer free wheeling and spontaneous.  For me, that is not freedom, it is being a prisoner of my whims and a disaster.

Overwhelmed

Yesterday I woke up  late.  The market was up, so I got on the computer and sold some stocks. By now, I was way off my morning routine and started feeling disorganized and overwhelmed, couldn’t decide what to do next.  So I made a list of the routine things; it looked overwhelming.  So I numbered them in semi- logical order.  Then I could focus on one at a time, cross it off, and move on to the next.

Overwhelmed was defeated!

Pressure

To make it worse, I was feeling pressured because I had an appointment to go to.  Then my wife reminded me that the appointment was on Wednesday, not Tuesday.  Saved me a futile trip and took away the pressure.

Life is good!  But with ADD ADHD the simplest things can turn into major issues.

Tips

1. Maintain structure.

2. Focus on one thing at a time – that’s one of the benefits of making lists.

3. Check your appointment book frequently, don’t rely on memory.

4. Get things written down – paper, i Phone, computer, appointment book – the fewer things we try to carry in our mind the better.

5. If you can, find a partner who will help you.  Check out Melissa Orlov’s book – The ADHD Effect On Marriage.

doug

Links:

first of a series on overwhelmed

Watch the eagles, to calm down

add,adhd,adult add,adult adhd,focus,clutter,ritalin,adult add,adult adhd,attention,deficit

Slow down and focus!

About doug with ADHD

I am a psychiatric physician. I learned I have ADHD at age 64, and then wrote two ADHD books for adults, focusing on strategies for making your life better. Your Life Can Be Better; strategies for adults with ADD/ADHD available at amazon.com, or smashwords.com (for e books) Living Daily With Adult ADD or ADHD: 365 Tips O the Day ( e-book). This is one tip at a time, one page at a time, at your own pace. It's meant to last a year. As a child, I was a bully. Then there was a transformation. Now I am committed to helping people instead abusing them. The Bully was published in January, 2016. It's in print or e book, on Amazon.
This entry was posted in add, ADD problems or symptoms, ADD strategies, adhd, attitudes, dysfunctions, organize, strategies and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Overcoming Overwhelmed — ADD Tip o the Day 484

  1. homemakersdaily says:

    Well said, Doug. I especially liked this comment: “But with ADD ADHD the simplest things can turn into major issues.”

    I think you and I are a lot alike. I could have written this post!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Gail B says:

    Good post! The 3 points: structure, focus on one thing at a time, and having one place to capture appointments, To Do lists, etc. can make the difference between a good/productive day versus an exhausting wandering day.

    Like

  3. Scott – Great, grandchildren are wonderful, congratulations, dont know much about ducklings but they sound good too. thank you for commenting
    doug

    Like

  4. Anonymous says:

    Thanks Doug,
    Just what I needed to hear. We’re expecting a Grandchild any day now, but also ducklings in a week to 10 days, so I’m freaking out. (It doesn’t take much. ;-)) None of that is anything I can really do anything about, so concentrate on the to do list. What is the first thing?
    Again, Thank you for your well-timed post!
    Scott

    Like

Leave a Reply

