One and One, A New ADD ADHD Strategy — ADD Tip o the Day 476

ONE AND ONE

With ADD ADHD we need structure and organization – are these strategies too?   Since retirement, I’ve been flopping around in circles, so I’m trying One and One.  One focus for each day and One task from that focus.

Here’s my weekly focus schedule:

Sunday    guitar

Monday   writing

Tuesday   blog, book marketing

Wednesday   writing

Thursday    stocks

Friday     book marketing

Saturday   blog, book marketing

That’s for every week.  Then each day from that focus I pick One task.

With this set schedule, I don’t have to make a decision about what to do each day.   It needs to be flexible, of course – things do come up, don’t they?

Everyday I have my quiet time, exercise, and a Spanish lesson on                  Duolingo (10 minutes, free on the net).  Then I try to get my One task done from my One focus of the day.  After that, I try to do more on the focus topic, but when I’ve done the One, the day is already a success.

Hoping this will provide enough schedule and organization; we’ll see how it works.  Any other suggestions?

Free Anti-Procrastination App

I just downloaded an app, Finish, from Apple i tunes, free, looks great,                to handle THE PROCRASTINATION MONSTER.   It was designed by two teenagers who are featured in a New York Times story today (Sunday).  Wonder how it will work with ADD ADHD?  Has anyone used it?

here’s the link: Duolingo

Duolingo offers courses in:

add,adhd,adult add,adult adhd,attention,deficit,learning,strategy,schedule,structure,procrasintate

I’m learning!

About doug with ADHD

I am a psychiatric physician. I learned I have ADHD at age 64, and then wrote two ADHD books for adults, focusing on strategies for making your life better. Your Life Can Be Better; strategies for adults with ADD/ADHD available at amazon.com, or smashwords.com (for e books) Living Daily With Adult ADD or ADHD: 365 Tips O the Day ( e-book). This is one tip at a time, one page at a time, at your own pace. It's meant to last a year. As a child, I was a bully. Then there was a transformation. Now I am committed to helping people instead abusing them. The Bully was published in January, 2016. It's in print or e book, on Amazon.
This entry was posted in add, ADD problems or symptoms, ADD strategies, adhd, organize and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to One and One, A New ADD ADHD Strategy — ADD Tip o the Day 476

  1. I’m very similar – I have a weekly timetable which I try to stick to as much as possible. Procrastination however, is an issue…

    Like

  2. homemakersdaily says:

    Yes, we sure do need structure and organization and I think they’re definitely strategies. If we don’t have some of that, we “flop around in circles” because we don’t know what to do. I like “routines” rather than schedules. Schedules make me feel claustrophobic and resistant but routines keep me focused without stressing me out.

    Like

    • Homey – we are each different, tho all of us ADDers have a lot in common.
      i couldnt leave a comment on your website because i wasn’t on your website, i was on an e mail.
      weird things are still happening. and besides that, why does weird break the i before e rule?? weird!
      thanks for commenting and for your good website and for posting on the book.
      doug

      Like

Leave a Reply

