ADD ADHD Ideas from Others, and Endorsements — ADD Tip o the Day 462

The purpose of the books is to help people with ADD ADHD live better, tho I admit there is no objection to making a profit too .  This nice note is from my sister, who does not have ADD or ADHD.

Just finished reading your latest blog- so many people getting

helped;  it was good to read their requests and replies.

Had an immediate connection with the woman who had so

many planners she didn’t know what to do (good subject for a

nursery rhyme/poem)..  So, my success, just recently

accomplished was to REALIZE that I would never pick one

that was perfect for all of my notes.  I made the bold move to

throw away (yes, waste)  the stack of possible folders; select

the one that seemed best at the moment; COMMIT to that and

MOVE ON.  Having just tossed those that I was “saving” for

someone or for myself, if needed-, I started working in the one

saved.  That really freed the stress & decision making anxieties.

Also allowed for patting one’s self on the back & a little happy dance;

since I no longer have a dog for such validation

The perfect is the enemy of the good.

From Homey:

I guess I do something like that once in a while – when I

having trouble getting started. I usually have a to-do list in 

my planner but sometimes I cant get started. So I get out 

a spiral notebook and make a list of the next 5 things Im

going to do. It does include routine things. It might be: 

1. Tidy house; 2. Sweep the floors. 3. Dump the trash cans.

 4. Start laundry. 5. Call insurance company. When I get 

those 5 done, I make 5 more. Usually that gets me started 

and I can switch back to my to-do list but sometimes I do it 

that way all day long.

Sometimes its overwhelming to make a to-do list for the day 

so the next 5 things is more manageable.

I also sometimes limit the size of my to-do list to 10 things. 

It still includes routine things, though. Again, that list might be: 

1. Bible; 2. Tidy & sweep; 3. Grocery list. 4. grocery store. 

5. make dinner. 6. blog. 7. Exercise. 8. Laundry. 9. Mail. 

10. Text Jeanette. If I finish the list, I can make a list of 5 more. 

But I have to be selective about what I put on the list and 

the rule is that I only do those 10 things first unless I messed up 

and forgot something important. Sometimes this list works well

 for me and other times it overwhelms me to make it.

Im a mess, I think.

No, as you can see, she isn’t.  She uses strategies and gets things done.

From Momma:

Comment: 
I love your books. You make sense to me and I finally 
understand myself. What a relief. I love lists - 
I especially love your lists strategy. I would love 
to see examples of how you filter things from your 
working list, to your yellow card, then to your orange
 card and finally to the red. I'm getting stuck on 
breaking down the tasks. I'm not really clear on it 
and I'm getting off track (I think). I would love to 
see just how much you break tasks down to small steps. 
Do you cross off and start new cards every day 
(or several times a day) as you complete tasks. I am 
new to this blog (so happy I came across it), so maybe
 this topic has been addressed elsewhere. If so, where
 can I find it? I would love to see actual screen shots
 or illustrations of how your list strategy works. 
Thank you for my life easier.

I ‘m glad you will address my questions in a blog. Thank you. I’m not clear regarding everyday routines – grooming, cleaning the house, laundry, etc., and how they are broken down and move through the yellow – orange – red cards, or whether the cards are used only for special projects. I can’t organize my daily chores, OR my special projects! I noticed that someone else asked the question of where one starts when absolutely everything is out of whack – household chores, finances, home maintenance, special projects…etc., etc., etc.. , but I don’t recall that you answered those questions. Every aspect of my life is currently out of whack, too. I’m delighted that I found your book and this site. It all validates what I feel and lets me know that I am not alone.

From Rollin:

Just wanted to say thanks. I wanted to email you personally, but could not find an email anywhere, so figured this would be the next best thing.
Rewind: At age 12, I was diagnosed with ADHD. Last medication I took (if I remember correctly) was Ritalin. I had to get off of it to join the Army… they wouldn’t allow me to join if I didn’t. So I did.
Now, Im 29 years old, active duty military with over 10 years of service – have served in special operations for the last 6. Over those last 6 years, I have been in a very high paced environment, home for a few months, and then go to Iraq or Afghanistan – come back after 6 months, and go again. This has been my op tempo for those 6 years. I thought about getting out of the military because I was feeling burnt out by the deployments and time away from my wife and kids. The powers that be wanted me to stick around, and suggested I take a knee and drink water, so to speak. Now I work in a setting where I evaluate potential candidates by having them undergo physical and mental events, etc; When we’re done with these events, I am required to write about these students and evaluate their performance. This is when I began to notice my ADHD “monster” coming back pretty bad. I was having a lot of trouble concentrating, staying on task, getting things accomplished that needed to be – I haven’t been in such a typical work setting (at least for me on so long.) I asked one of the psychs that we work with for advice, and she got me an appointment with a friend of hers, who then had me get with another doctor who prescribed me Adderall. It’s been almost a month, and I have never felt better. I feel organized, I get things done I set out to do, I dont feel nearly as edgy or irritated as I used to – all because I got the treatment I finally needed.
I didn’t understand why I worked so well before, but now life is a bit slower. The doctor told me people with ADHD tend to thrive off of that highly stressful, fast paced movement that I’ve been going through between deploying, training, and what not the last several years. Now that Im slowing down, its becoming harder to control because it is not as fast paced as it used to be. Im guessing that could really be it… because I once again feel like a fully functioning adult lol. Adderall and getting help has truly given me a new lease on life. Not just for me, but my family. I cant even begin to imagine how many times my wife had to tell me where I put my kids, or when I was going to finish so and so…. but she doesn’t anymore. In fact, I find myself helping her more at times! Its amazing… Im just glad I finally got the help and treatment I needed. I don’t care about the stigma with it – I don’t care that I need to pop another Adderall mid way through the day to keep me focused and accomplishing what I need to do – because I am doing just that.
Your book – is amazing. I read a preview from Amazon, and bought it immediately after. Some of the things you discuss, I really thought I was the only one who did that as an adult – it was really like a breath of fresh air reading. The strategies are just as great, I have adopted a couple already. However, I typically do it with my smart phone (the lists and what not) – tend to be a nerd with technology. I haven’t finished it yet, really don’t want reading it to be over. hah.. I read a few pages a day, and go about my business.

With all that said and out of the way, thanks. I will definitely be following your blog (already do on Twitter now) and taking more of your advice along the way, Im sure. Thank you once again…

Thanks to everyone who comments.  I am trying to gradually answer Momma’s issues on the blog; it’s like an expanded more detailed review of the basics.

doug

add,adhd,adult add,adult adhd, attention deficit,attention,deficit,strategies,coping

The new ADD/ADHD book

About doug with ADHD

I am a psychiatric physician. I learned I have ADHD at age 64, and then wrote two ADHD books for adults, focusing on strategies for making your life better. Your Life Can Be Better; strategies for adults with ADD/ADHD available at amazon.com, or smashwords.com (for e books) Living Daily With Adult ADD or ADHD: 365 Tips O the Day ( e-book). This is one tip at a time, one page at a time, at your own pace. It's meant to last a year. As a child, I was a bully. Then there was a transformation. Now I am committed to helping people instead abusing them. The Bully was published in January, 2016. It's in print or e book, on Amazon.
This entry was posted in add, ADD problems or symptoms, ADD strategies, attitudes, organize, strategies and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to ADD ADHD Ideas from Others, and Endorsements — ADD Tip o the Day 462

  1. mommaadd says:

    I just finished chapter 21 of YLCCB and I am planning to change my attitude and re-frame my negative approach to housework. Now, instead of saying, “ugh, I have to spend my day dealing with the drudgery of cleaning my house “, I am going to tell myself “I am going to make my home sparkle and look beautiful today”. Wow. Just writing those words down makes me feel better already. I am also going to break down the work into small manageable steps so that I don’t get overwhelmed. Thank you, Doug, for these wonderful strategies. Momma

    Like

    • momma- i am so glad that Your Life Can Be Better is helping you make your life better. It sounds like you are really getting it, and creatively figuring out how to modify and apply strategies to your own situations. Good for you!
      thank you for your comments.
      doug

      Like

Leave a Reply

