Schedule,Routine,Blocks of Time — ADD Tip o the Day 461

Momma complains of totally disorganized, out of whack, doesn’t know how to start.  For ADD ADHD, that is disaster.  Momma, I don’t know you personally and I don’t know your circumstances, so this is one way to start but you will need to personalize it.  Daily and weekly schedule, routine, and blocks of time:

add,adhd,adult add,adult adhd,attention,deficit,schedule,routine

daily schedule

add,adhd,adult add,adult adhd,attention,deficit,schedule,routine

Thursday off!

add,adhd,adult add,adult adhd,attention,deficit,schedule,routine

Sunday

Modify this to fit your preferences and circumstances, you will have a daily and weekly schedule and a routine.  You will need to be flexible, things will come up.  You may wish to fill in things for the afternoons and evenings or not.  For example, I commit to doing a blog post on Mon, Wed, Sat.   That’s routine, structure, that I need.

This is a start!

doug

routine  clik

more routine, from Margarita   clik

more tips, from Dana  clik

About doug with ADHD

I am a psychiatric physician. I learned I have ADHD at age 64, and then wrote two ADHD books for adults, focusing on strategies for making your life better. Your Life Can Be Better; strategies for adults with ADD/ADHD available at amazon.com, or smashwords.com (for e books) Living Daily With Adult ADD or ADHD: 365 Tips O the Day ( e-book). This is one tip at a time, one page at a time, at your own pace. It's meant to last a year. As a child, I was a bully. Then there was a transformation. Now I am committed to helping people instead abusing them. The Bully was published in January, 2016. It's in print or e book, on Amazon.
This entry was posted in add, ADD problems or symptoms, ADD strategies, distraction, organize, strategies and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Schedule,Routine,Blocks of Time — ADD Tip o the Day 461

  1. mommaadd says:

    Thank you so much for breaking down the cards/lists strategies for me. I know I asked a lot and I appreciate your taking the time to explain it all. The screen shots are so helpful, too. I understand it much better now. I’m not finished with your book yet, but the cards/lists strategies really talked to me, (I love lists), so I started using it right away. I don’t have my colored index cards yet, so I am using loose leaf paper. I must say, just seeing what I needed to do written on a piece of paper felt so good. It gave me much needed direction. I felt empowered. I started with something simple: I get up early on Sundays, so I can have some “me” time before my children wake up and before Church. During this time, I read my emails, maybe flip through a magazine, catch up on a tv show, guilty pleasure stuff. Well, usually, when I turn on my computer, I find something interesting on yahoo’s home page, then something else interesting (kind of like your Henry VIII Wives’ example). Before you know it, I have done nothing but read yahoo news that is not important , and then I am running late for church. SO, on my list I wrote: read HGTV magazine (and don’t start another magazine before you finish it), read 15 minutes of Your Life Can Be Better, find a Christmas letter from a friend (I’ve been looking through my piles since Christmas), research Hoya care, etc., AND leave plenty of time to get ready for Church. I did it all and checked off the items as I went along. And I was on time for church. No rushing out the door 1/2 ready. It felt great. My family couldn’t believe I was on time. The next day, I wrote some real to-do stuff on my paper – 5 things only – pay bills, empty suitcase, plan weekly menus, etc.) I got them all accomplished. Again, it felt great. I have decided to name my list from Sunday morning “Leisure Time” and I made another list called “Little Things to Do”. for 5-10 minute tasks. Then I will have my list of only 5 things. I am keeping some reminders where I tend to sit: “Finish one book or magazine before you start another” and “leave plenty of time to get ready”. As I said, just seeing the words seems to motivate me and keep me on track. Key for me is keeping up the momentum and the lists. Otherwise, I fall right back into getting nothing done (because it is not written down). Maybe I will make a “write your lists and cards” reminder to keep me going. Thank you for this blog and for your books. They are gifts. Momma

    Like

    • momma – thank you so much for your gift of the follow up comment. I am very happy to hear how you are doing and what helps. you have nailed a number of things about the strategies, and the positive reinforcement of getting things done, and the power of just writing things down. we ARE able to get to church on time etc, but by using strategies, not by trying harder. and you are tailor making the strategies to fit yourself, and what works for you. that is so important.
      let me mention that if you are like most of us, you will eventually let slip some of the things that work for you. that’s normal and expectable, human nature. its good to make a plan now so that when you realize it, you wont need to give up “see, i knew i was hopeless”, but can just get back on the track. and maybe this wont happen with you anyway.
      i think i have now addressed all your questions on the blog. they have given me a lot of material to write on, thats good. if i’ve missed something, please let me know.
      thank you so much for your comment. i may post it on the blog if you dont object.
      best wishes
      doug

      Like

      • momma – ps: i’m ahead of myself, next post or so i about how to use the cards, tho it sounds like you probably already got it
        doug

        Like

        • mommaadd says:

          Please feel free to post my comment. I’m sorry it was so long! I would still love to see how you use the cards, please post if you want to. I think you could write an entire book on the lists/cards strategies. LOL. Thank you for the tip about planning how to get back on track for those times I get off track. I wonder how you do it ? – it’s probably in the book. Thank you again for getting me unstuck. Momma

          Like

  2. homemakersdaily says:

    I wrote an article recently about how to overcome overwhelm that might help Momma get started. http://homemakersdaily.com/overcoming-overwhelm/

    DOUG: If you’d rather I didn’t post a link to my blog, just delete this. It won’t hurt my feelings at all.

    Like

  3. Pingback: Structure for ADD ADHD | Living Daily With Adult ADD or ADHD

Leave a Reply

