Frustration — ADD Tip o the Day 438

This issue is not particularly ADD or ADHD, it’s just human, but my ADD makes it worse – no patience, remember?

Things aren’t going quite the way I want, and I’m getting flooded with frustration.  I’m trying hard to control the situation, which only makes it worse, because it’s not controllable, so I’m just making myself more frustrated.  I need to relax, quit fighting it, and just  go with the flow.

So here’s my strategies:

1. be aware, understand what is going on – see above.

2. pray – for the situation to improve, but even more, for me to be able to change my attitude, which is a bigger problem than the problem is.

3. do what I can; there are some things that can improve the situation; they won’t fix it and surely not as fast as I want (no patience), but worth doing, and this works against the awful feeling of helplessness.

4. use the motto – “This too shall pass.” (but how long oh Lord, how long?)

5. look at the positives and realize how much I have to be grateful for

6. write this post- this is venting and also helps me get better perspective

the prayer is probably the most important move, because I don’t have the power to change my attitude myself.

doug

a lot depends on attitude

a lot depends on attitude

this is the good link from jonathon that didn’t work in the last post for a while  clik

About doug with ADHD

I am a psychiatric physician. I learned I have ADHD at age 64, and then wrote two ADHD books for adults, focusing on strategies for making your life better. Your Life Can Be Better; strategies for adults with ADD/ADHD available at amazon.com, or smashwords.com (for e books) Living Daily With Adult ADD or ADHD: 365 Tips O the Day ( e-book). This is one tip at a time, one page at a time, at your own pace. It's meant to last a year. As a child, I was a bully. Then there was a transformation. Now I am committed to helping people instead abusing them. The Bully was published in January, 2016. It's in print or e book, on Amazon.
This entry was posted in add, ADD problems or symptoms and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Frustration — ADD Tip o the Day 438

  1. homey
    well, you can always post something here, and it is always appreciated.
    doug

    Like

  2. homemakersdaily says:

    Oh, boy! I can certainly relate. I pretty much do the same things you do – except maybe write a post. Those won’t work too well on my homemaking blog! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

