Guest Tips for ADD or ADHD — ADD Tip o the Day 425

Bonnie’s time management blog, JJ’s constructive strategies and use of goals and small steps, and of course, Jonathon’s  book review are all worth sharing with you.

amjjstone says:

I like to multitask by staggering the tasks into smaller increments so that I’m getting something accomplished with all of them, yet I never do any of them long enough to lose focus. For example, I work from home on my computer so I can also do housework during the day. I will work for ten minutes, fold 20 items of laundry, clean ten dishes, and then start over. Once I finish the laundry or dishes I find two other projects to work on and keep staggering them with my work. I end up being far more productive in the long run.

Jonathan Taylor

Yes. I’ve read a number of good ADHD books that were self published (including yours). I think it’s our impatience. When we’re done with something we want it out NOW!

Your book is unique among self help books in that it doesn’t over promise and has a very direct style. You call a spade a spade, and when there’s not a great solution, you say so. My favorite moment in your book is this:

“We do need breaks if we’re studying or working on any long project, but we also need a way to limit the breaks, so they don’t become traps. I’m not good at this, and I don’t have any great strategies for it.”

Puryear MD, Douglas A. (2011-12-12). Your Life Can Be Better: using strategies for Adult ADD/ADHD (p. 73). Mill City Press. Kindle Edition.

It says to me you’re struggling through it too and you’re not going to mince words and pretend you have the answer for everything. (But that’s in addition to all the great strategies you include—I love index cards and “The Rule of Five.”

Time Management Solutions:  virtual conference coming – by bonnie

Plan your tasks around the non-task factors – In other words, plan your activities based on when your mind will be most equipped to handle them.  If you are a “morning person” and your medication is working best at 9:30 a.m., then take advantage of your heightened focus ability at that time.   If you know you are at your most creative starting mid-afternoon, then schedule your writing for that time and get your more routine work done earlier in the day.

Maintain a “parking lot” to park non-relevant directions or ideas – If you’re in the middle of working on something and you suddenly have an idea, your boss gives you a directive on something else, or you come across a web link you want to explore – don’t go off and do it now!  Instead, “park” that new thought in one place where you know you’ll find it later.  This parking lot can be a notebook, a running document, or online cloud platform where you go regularly to find these inputs later.

  • Just make sure you develop a regular ritual to look at your parking lot at least once a day. (Set reminders to do so until the ritual becomes a habit.)

Be strategic about how you take breaks – This is a whole topic in itself, so I’ll save it for the next post!

Bonnie’s conference   clik

doug

I hope you are reading all the comments at the bottom of the posts; wish there was some way to just have them show up.

add,adhd,adult add,adult adhd,atention,deficit

Acme Insurance Co: premium collection and claims payment depts

About doug with ADHD

I am a psychiatric physician. I learned I have ADHD at age 64, and then wrote two ADHD books for adults, focusing on strategies for making your life better. Your Life Can Be Better; strategies for adults with ADD/ADHD available at amazon.com, or smashwords.com (for e books) Living Daily With Adult ADD or ADHD: 365 Tips O the Day ( e-book). This is one tip at a time, one page at a time, at your own pace. It's meant to last a year. As a child, I was a bully. Then there was a transformation. Now I am committed to helping people instead abusing them. The Bully was published in January, 2016. It's in print or e book, on Amazon.
This entry was posted in add and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

