Not Again! Again — ADD Tip o the Day 421

If you have ADD or ADHD it keeps life interesting, doesn’t it, and also for your significant other.

For convenience, I keep my credit card and drivers license in a little wallet in my pants pocket.

OK, so I lost my credit card and license again, again.  My wife was not pleased.  No, she definitely was not pleased.  This was the third time, and, take my word for it, she was not pleased.  She thinks living with someone with ADD or ADHD is an interesting and exciting challenge, sort of.

After the first two times, I have strategies to prevent this, but we were on a trip and I was keeping my camera handy in my pocket so that messed up my system.  So when I couldn’t find it, I was sure it had fallen out of my pocket in the car when I was getting out my camera.

But I searched the car and it wasn’t there, so my wife called the place where we’d stopped for lunch but  no one had turned it in.  So my wife called the credit card company, but while she did that I got the flashlight out and searched the car again and it was under the seat.

Do you lose things?

doug

it all works out

it all works out

About doug with ADHD

I am a psychiatric physician. I learned I have ADHD at age 64, and then wrote two ADHD books for adults, focusing on strategies for making your life better. Your Life Can Be Better; strategies for adults with ADD/ADHD available at amazon.com, or smashwords.com (for e books) Living Daily With Adult ADD or ADHD: 365 Tips O the Day ( e-book). This is one tip at a time, one page at a time, at your own pace. It's meant to last a year. As a child, I was a bully. Then there was a transformation. Now I am committed to helping people instead abusing them. The Bully was published in January, 2016. It's in print or e book, on Amazon.
This entry was posted in add and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Not Again! Again — ADD Tip o the Day 421

  1. sierra529 says:

    I absolutely identify with every single thing said here. I have had to cancel credit cards while traveling… my rule is to put them back in my purse after using them but occasionally I will stuff them in a pocket (aka at the gas pump or at an event) or on the seat of my car, then you know what happens after that! I can forget why I rolled across my office in my desk chair…! I also thought I lost my phone a couple weeks ago which panicked both myself and my husband–called the restaurant we went to for breakfast, my office, etc… then found it the third time I emptied out my purse. Yes it makes life exciting all right.

    Like

    • sierra – been there, done that, three times now on the credit cards! you’d think i’d learn. any way, have slightly improved my strategy. hope it’ll help. we’re all kinda in the same boat, huh?
      thanks
      doug

      Like

  2. darsword says:

    Yep. If my strategy is disrupted, I’m a lost cause. Glad you found the cards.

    Like

    • yep,me too. for example, vacations are hard cause i cant keep a routine and some of my strategies aren’t applicable.
      thanks for the supportive comments
      doug

      Like

      • darsword says:

        Vacations, doctors appointments, even a phone call can flip my day.I don’t know how old you are, but I want to warn you that in your sixties or later those long held to strategies get forgotten–a lot! My ways of remembering names (first letter, rhymes with…) find the wrong answers. Grr–oops! LOL!<–that old standby. 🙂

        Like

        • dars
          yep, LOL is a great strategy. i do forget to use my strategies sometimes, but in general they are habits and that doesnt happen often. but things like you said can throw every thing off. btw, I’m even older than that – have you ever heard -older than dirt?
          thanks
          doug

          Like

  3. moleculefest says:

    I generally don’t lose things. But I always forget what I’m doing. Say I’m at my desk and I need a reference book. That book is in the living room. I’ll get up and as I get to the kitchen, I’ve forgotten what it was I needed. So I’ll retrace my steps and remember. Or I’ll just end up getting a glass of water, sitting back down and THEN I’ll remember the book. I’ll get up again to go get it, will forget again. I usually have to do that dance two, three times before actually remembering.

    For that, I found that saying out loud what I need to do helps. “I’m getting up to get the book on Good Design!” But it does make me look really silly at work!

    Like

    • molecule- oh, yes!!! me too. “now what is itthat i’m doing here???”
      saying it out loud at the beginning is a great strategy, its related to me trying to make the habit of saying out loud where I’ve just parked the car “row f, in front of the green sign.”
      thank you for the comment and for the strategy
      doug

      Like

  4. busydarling says:

    Yup. Today I lost my watch. Turns out it was behind the mug I just placed on my dresser. *facepalm*.
    Also: good to hear I’m not the only one who has a SO who finds life with a person with ADHD ‘exciting’.

    Like

  5. I do. Like you, I work really hard NOT to lose things – to have systems to prevent losing things – but they don’t always work. I hate looking for things!!!

    Like

  6. messymarissa says:

    Always!! Then when I find it, it’s “oh yeah now I remember”

    Like

Leave a Reply

