Ritalin Again — ADD Tip o the Day 420

add,adhd,adult add,adult adhd, attention deficit,attention,deficit,strategies,coping

The new ADD/ADHD book

For reasons I wont go into, I am trying ritalin again.  Ritalin, concerta, adderall, all are the stimulants used for ADD or ADHD.

Before, on the pills, the benefits on my ADD symptoms were clear but were counterbalanced by the side effects, so I stopped.  This time, I am using the strip, so it is absorbed thru the skin, and I do not have the mild jitteriness or the  mild stomach  upset of the last time.  I have better focus (even tho I lost my credit card again- see next post) more drive and motivation, and more energy.  I am quite happy with them.  The only down I notice is a little less ability to relax or settle down, which I didn’t have much of before.

I think the strips are expensive but my doctor had a card for a months free supply, and since I cut them and use one third a day, that’s three months.  Then we’ll see.

doug

on ritalin   clik   and clik and clik

About doug with ADHD

I am a psychiatric physician. I learned I have ADHD at age 64, and then wrote two ADHD books for adults, focusing on strategies for making your life better. Your Life Can Be Better; strategies for adults with ADD/ADHD available at amazon.com, or smashwords.com (for e books) Living Daily With Adult ADD or ADHD: 365 Tips O the Day ( e-book). This is one tip at a time, one page at a time, at your own pace. It's meant to last a year. As a child, I was a bully. Then there was a transformation. Now I am committed to helping people instead abusing them. The Bully was published in January, 2016. It's in print or e book, on Amazon.
This entry was posted in add. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Ritalin Again — ADD Tip o the Day 420

  1. Pingback: Talking About ADD ADHD Medicines — ADD Tip O the Day 585 | ADDadultstrategies

  2. Hi There. I just purchased your book Life Can Be Better just last night on my Kindle. So far I really like it. I think it will be VERY helpful. As a newly licensed RN I felt it was finally time for the official diagnosis, which I got in April of 2013. It has been a ride for sure. It is truly frustrating at times dealing with medications and NP’s and Dr’s. The only one that really seems to understand are my Psychologist and my sons Pediatrician. Thank you for trying to help people by opening up your life. I truly appreciate it!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. sierra – yes, a balancing act, and finding the right med, right dose, and right timing. the directions say keep the patch on for 9 hours, but i ‘ve learned that i need to take it off at 4 pm if i want to sleep.
    always, thank you for commenting
    doug

    Like

  4. moleculefest says:

    I agree with what sierra529 wrote. It really IS a balancing act. I switched to Vyvanse after getting going paranoid on Ritalin SR. And so far, the Vyvanse (at the right dosage), seems to be working wonders on me.

    So the ritalin patch, huh? Is it Daytrana?

    Like

  5. Anonymous says:

    Wow good luck! I am dabbling with meds again too… I was previously on ginormous doses of Vyvanse prescribed by a psychiatrist but suffered crippling anxiety and insomnia so stopped taking it altogether. Now my regular GP started me on teeny tiny doses of Adderall, and I seem to be able to focus better in the day but still sleep at night! It’s such a balancing act.

    Like

Leave a Reply

