Living Daily With Adult ADD or ADHD

Well, the new ADD or ADHD book is up and running – I think.  Well, maybe not exactly running yet, but I mean you can get your Kindle version on Amazon   clik

or other E book platform at Smashwords      clik.

How can this book be of help  to you?

It is a collection of tips, to be read one a day, like a daily devotional or an inspirational calendar.  So it can help you find new strategies, because it contains some new information, not found in Your Life Can Be Better.  It can help you understand better what living with ADD or ADHD is like, and that you are not the only one.  It can provide a review for what you learned from Your Life Can Be Better or from the Tip o the Day blog.  And it can help you stay on track and on top of your own ADD or ADHD problems.

Maybe there’s other ways it can be helpful, too?

best wishes

doug

add,adhd,adult add,adult adhd, attention deficit,attention,deficit,strategies,coping
A new ADD/ADHD book
About doug with ADHD

I am a psychiatric physician. I learned I have ADHD at age 64, and then wrote two ADHD books for adults, focusing on strategies for making your life better. Your Life Can Be Better; strategies for adults with ADD/ADHD available at amazon.com, or smashwords.com (for e books) Living Daily With Adult ADD or ADHD: 365 Tips O the Day ( e-book). This is one tip at a time, one page at a time, at your own pace. It's meant to last a year. As a child, I was a bully. Then there was a transformation. Now I am committed to helping people instead abusing them. The Bully was published in January, 2016. It's in print or e book, on Amazon.
This entry was posted in add. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Living Daily With Adult ADD or ADHD

  1. sierra- glad you found some useful tips. i think willpower is quite exhaustible,tho is replenished by sleeping and by eating, and probably by taking a break. “have to” is a killer,will mess up anything. if you are going to use routine it will help to give yourself permission to not follo it, then it will be easier to follo it most of the time, it can be your friend instead of your slave driver.
    i really appreciate your comments. thanks
    best wishes
    doug

    Like

  2. sierra
    wow! interesting comment and question. let’s see- we ADDers have a lot in common, but we are all unique too. what works for me may not work for you.
    that said, i don’t really experience the resistance just the way you describe, but sometimes i resist doing my exercise, and i have trouble using will power to control what i eat, or specifically, what i think i “should not” eat.
    so i’m wondering , do you experience routine as a tool to help you, or as a constriction being forced on you?
    you maybe need to drop the idea of routine, tho i think that would be a loss, or give yourself permission to consciously intentionally not follo it sometimes, or, much harder, try to rethink your attitude about it.
    thank you for commenting and especially for feedback on the new book. i look forward to your response.
    best wishes
    doug

    Like

    • sierra529 says:

      Thanks for your response. I definitely experience routine as a constriction. I do have a few comforting routines I have developed, but most routines that involve something I “have” to do I experience as excruciatingly boring. The first time I do something it is fun, the second bearable, the third it is going to start to get avoided! (And my 11 year old daughter is exactly the same way)

      I have never thought about whether I can actually modify my attitude toward routine. Maybe I can “trick” myself into liking it somehow, as you discussed in your book. I have been able to do that about other things, such as studying when I was in college.

      Like

      • sierra529 says:

        Funny after I wrote that I reached several helpful ideas in the book, some repeat/reinforcing ones, and some new. I should change my negative self-talk about routine, and focus more on the reward factor that following through on certain routines brings. I also have been viewing willpower as an exhaustible resource (somewhat based on published studies?) and probably should try to think of it as an energizer. Maybe we had it right in the “old days” where there was more focus on just “do what I have to do and that brings reward” and less on “I have the right to just be happy right now and do what i want”.

        Like

  3. sierra529 says:

    I like tip of the day style books, but I confess I do not read only one a day. I read the whole thing the same way I would any other book. However, the nice thing about them is that once I have read the book I can keep it around and later pick it up, open to any page and read it without it being “out of order.” That appeals to my natural inclination not to do things the “right” way 🙂 Somehow I found myself reading this latest book backwards, which is fun. .

    Which brings me to something I find myself wondering, regarding strategies, rules, and habits. I can sometimes feel the resistance in my brain even just reading about following a daily routine. Do you ever struggle with that inner temper tantrum when you try to stay in a habit or follow a rule? That feeling of impatient boredom with my to-do list, or anything else I try to do the same way twice, is my worst obstacle.

    Like

  4. Jennie Gunnarsen says:

    Hi Doug,
    This is Jennie (Kyra’s daughter). You won’t believe this but I was guided to your site by an ally on SuperBetter (SuperBetter is a computer game that helps you achieve your health goals — or recover from an illness or injury — by increasing your personal resilience. I used it during my recovery from generalized anxiety disorder. For more info, se this Ted Talk: http://www.ted.com/talks/jane_mcgonigal_the_game_that_can_give_you_10_extra_years_of_life.html).
    First of all, I want you to know that you are in my prayers.
    Secondly, if you have any spare time or energy, I would love to have a little e-mail correspondance with you about adhd in my family. Please just ignore this request if it would in any way be a burden on you.
    Much love,
    Jennie

    Like

    • jennie thank you for your prayers. of course, e mail me best wishes doug

      Your Life Can Be Better, using strategies for adult ADD/ADHD. Living Daily With ADD or ADHD: 365 Tips o the Day blog: addadultstrategies.wordpress.com website: addadultstrategies.com, adultaddoradhd.wordpress.com book at : amazon.com or smashwords.com (e books)

      > Date: Wed, 28 Aug 2013 10:24:05 +0000 > To: mkpdp@live.com >

      Like

Leave a Reply

