Knob – A Klutz Story — ADD Tip o the Day 416

Today I reached for the jar of instant decaf, and knocked it over.  Coffee grains all over the counter.  Clumsiness tends to run with ADD or ADHD.  But so does creativity! I got a catalog out of the recycle bag, tore off a slick heavy cover, and used it as dust pan.  Those coffee grains just slid right up onto it using the flat of my hand.  And back into the jar; I’m the only one that uses it anyway.  So, a flub and a triumph.

Reminded me of the old 50’s song, Drunk:

“Gin is a drink so mellow and slow, get a little taste and you want some more.                Start out walking and you just can’t go, reach for the knob, miss the whole damn door.”

Well, life with ADD is interesting.  Anybody else have dyscoordination?

doug

clumsy,add,adhd,adult add,adult adhd,attention,deficit

splash!

How about dystechnologica? New book is out and I can’t get it to stick on the regular Amazon web site.  Arrggghhh!       anyway, clik                    

Oh, boy! Just wait for the next post!

About doug with ADHD

I am a psychiatric physician. I learned I have ADHD at age 64, and then wrote two ADHD books for adults, focusing on strategies for making your life better. Your Life Can Be Better; strategies for adults with ADD/ADHD available at amazon.com, or smashwords.com (for e books) Living Daily With Adult ADD or ADHD: 365 Tips O the Day ( e-book). This is one tip at a time, one page at a time, at your own pace. It's meant to last a year. As a child, I was a bully. Then there was a transformation. Now I am committed to helping people instead abusing them. The Bully was published in January, 2016. It's in print or e book, on Amazon.
This entry was posted in add and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Knob – A Klutz Story — ADD Tip o the Day 416

  1. So I always thought I was clumsy…..now I know. Get this, I read ahead in your book a bit last night (first night of purchase), imagine that! Well the part about the cerebellum even being involved was VERY interesting. I found out in 2011 that I actually have a pretty nice sized arachnoid cyst sitting right on my cerebellum. Congenital supposedly. Makes sense now….it’s like a double whammy of clumsiness. I fall up stairs, I fall down stairs, I constantly hurt myself or bump in to things AND I too bump my coffee as I am trying to get them in the basket…have to start over and rinse the basket out….fun times.

    Like

  2. sierra529 says:

    So funny–I spill coffee almost every morning. In my case it is just getting the scoop to the basket, I seem to always hit the side of the coffeemaker and it goes everywhere. Actually, this happens to me with almost anything granulated.

    By the way I had no trouble finding and ordering the book! 🙂

    Like

    • sierra – yes i know about hitting the side! and i”m glad you clould get the book, it was a mess for a while. let me know how the concept works for you if you would please
      thank you always for commenting
      doug

      Like

  3. moleculefest says:

    You know how when you enter puberty and you start growing, you keep bumping into things and hitting walls and furniture with your limbs? Well I have that. I haven’t outgrown it.

    A few years back I was working in a photo store and had to go to the back to get stuff every day. EVERY SINGLE DAY I would bump into the very same wall. A friend of mine once proclaimed, after a pretty loud-sounding bump: “Ladies and Gentleman, O, the man who never got out of puberty”

    Hehehehe.

    Like

    • molecule – i sure know what you mean. there is the adolescent phase where our brain hasnt yet caught up with our body, and then there is the lack of hand eye coordination. makes life interesting doesnt it?
      thank you for commenting
      doug

      Like

  4. sophiamj – exactly!!! or, rather, the lack of it.
    hope your eye is ok
    thank you for commenting
    doug

    Like

  5. sophiamj says:

    Very much so, my hand I is awful. I once poked my own eye with a fork with cantaloupe on the end- missed my mouth completely:)

    Like

Leave a Reply

