The Small Tasks — ADD Tip o the Day 389

With ADD or ADHD, we are victims of distractions, and things don’t get finished.

Here’s a simple rule – if you’re doing a small task, don’t let anything interrupt it until you finish. 

Make this a rule.  If a distraction comes up, trying to lure you off, just write it down and finish the task.

Get it done; cross it off.  Or better, maybe you never even wrote it down in the first place.

doug

add,adhd,adult add,adult adhd,attention,deficit,distraction
sometimes there’s too much going on.
About doug with ADHD

I am a psychiatric physician. I learned I have ADHD at age 64, and then wrote two ADHD books for adults, focusing on strategies for making your life better. Your Life Can Be Better; strategies for adults with ADD/ADHD available at amazon.com, or smashwords.com (for e books) Living Daily With Adult ADD or ADHD: 365 Tips O the Day ( e-book). This is one tip at a time, one page at a time, at your own pace. It's meant to last a year. As a child, I was a bully. Then there was a transformation. Now I am committed to helping people instead abusing them. The Bully was published in January, 2016. It's in print or e book, on Amazon.
This entry was posted in add and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The Small Tasks — ADD Tip o the Day 389

  1. Pingback: Distractions | Living Daily With Adult ADD or ADHD

  2. Pingback: Let’s talk About Distractions — ADD Tip o the Day 457 | ADDadultstrategies

  3. doug says:

    patty – beautiful examples. yes, i think just writing it down has a positive effect even if we don’t even look a the list, even tho we do need to look.
    as always, your comments are greatly appreciated
    thanks
    doug.

    Like

  4. I have a terrible time with small tasks. Unless I write them down, they tend not to ever get done. My husband, who doesn’t have ADD, is a master at getting small and big things done. I’ve tried to watch and learn but I just can’t do what he does. I need big things AND small things on my to-do list in order to get anything done. Somehow, when everything is written down, I am much more organized in my thoughts. I sometimes get three or four things done without even looking at the list because they all go together in some way. For example, I went downstairs to switch the laundry and when I came up and passed the kitty litter, I went ahead and changed it because I knew it was on the list. Then I grabbed the windex from the cleaning caddy near the kitty litter and cleaned off the window in the family room. Three tasks in a row. But if they hadn’t been written down, I wouldn’t have done any of them.

    Speaking of getting distracted, we were having company for dinner Friday night so I went into the office to get the extra chair. Between the office and the dining room, I got distracted with something and forgot about the chair. About 10 minutes later, I saw the chair sitting in the middle of the kitchen. Oops. Guess I should have followed your advice and not allowed myself to interrupt that small task. Oh boy – I know exactly what you’re talking about.

    Like

Leave a Reply

