List of Three — ADD Tip o the Day 383

For ADD or ADHD, the two most important lists are the list of five and the list of one. The next most important is the long list (everything you need to do).  Then there is also  the list of three.

Most of the time I have a list of three in my head.  Right now, I’m writing this post; then I need to record the new checks that came in (yea!), then do my exercise.  Somehow I can have this in the back of my mind without it distracting me from focusing on writing this, which is the one thing right now.

A friend with ADD does something similar; whenever he starts something, he asks himself, “and what’s the next thing?”

This is a form of structure. When I complete something I need to pause and congratulate myself, take time to feel good.  I may even need a break.  But I don’t need to be thinking, “OK, what in the world do I do now?”  No, I need to be ready to move on to the next thing on my list of five, which in my head, is the list of three.

doug

Thank you everyone! – the book has sold over 7,500 copies now, and I like to think that it has helped at least that many people.  And the blog has gotten over 20,250 hits, and I like to think it’s been helpful, too.  The new ADD book is on the fifth draft; hopefully it will be out in a few months -hopefully.

This has been way beyond my wildest hopes or expectations.

ADD,ADHD,adult ADDm,adult ADHD,attention,deficit
it’s a bright sunshiny day.
About doug with ADHD

I am a psychiatric physician. I learned I have ADHD at age 64, and then wrote two ADHD books for adults, focusing on strategies for making your life better. Your Life Can Be Better; strategies for adults with ADD/ADHD available at amazon.com, or smashwords.com (for e books) Living Daily With Adult ADD or ADHD: 365 Tips O the Day ( e-book). This is one tip at a time, one page at a time, at your own pace. It's meant to last a year. As a child, I was a bully. Then there was a transformation. Now I am committed to helping people instead abusing them. The Bully was published in January, 2016. It's in print or e book, on Amazon.
This entry was posted in add and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to List of Three — ADD Tip o the Day 383

  1. homemakersdaily says:

    Congratulations! The book is awesome – the best I’ve read on ADD. I didn’t realize you were working on a new one. I’ll look forward to it.

    Like

    • homey – thank you so much.
      i am now stooping to asking for reviews if you wish on amazon or anywhere you got the book.
      hope the new book will be out in june, will let everyone know
      best wishes
      doug

      Like

Leave a Reply

