Recent Research — ADD Tip o the Day 380

Tidbits on ADD ADHD:

“ADHD is estimated to be present in 3%-7% of children, while adult ADHD has an estimated prevalence of 4.4%.  In those diagnosed as children, rates of ADHD persistence into adulthood span 30% to 70%. It is well-reported that adult ADHD manifests more as inattention than as hyperactivity.”

While the stimulants, ritalin and others,  are generally quite safe, it is recommended “to screen for histories of cardiovascular problems, and to monitor heart rate and blood pressure in adults.”

In older adults, it is important ” to differentiate adult ADHD from mild cognitive impairment or dementia, as cognitive difficulties in older adults with unrecognized ADHD can be easily attributed to the latter two diagnoses.” ‘Brain  imaging studies of ADHD studies involve similar areas as are implicated in dementias.’

“Childhood hyperactivity may manifest as adult inner restlessness, felling on the go, or inability to relax.” ( I experience it as the giant flywheel inside that never stops spinning. )”Inattentiveness noted in children may be better described in adults as distractibility, disorganization, being late, being bored, lack of overview (??)and difficulty making decisions.

Impulsivity may be expressed as impatience, acting without thinking, spending money recklessly, and/or starting or ending new jobs or relationships on impulse.”

“Many adults with ADHD experience lifetime mood lability, with highs and lows and short tempers.”

There has been an increase in stimulant prescription for young people (18-29 years old) by non psychiatric physicians, often without a diagnosis being recorded.  There apparently is an increase of use of ritalin  by students in order to enhance their performance (I am not clear how this works???)

There is an increasing number of brain images studies showing differences in the brain anatomy and functioning in those with ADD or ADHD and those without.

doug

add,adhd,adult add,adult adhd,ritalin,attention,deficit
out on a limb.
About doug with ADHD

I am a psychiatric physician. I learned I have ADHD at age 64, and then wrote two ADHD books for adults, focusing on strategies for making your life better. Your Life Can Be Better; strategies for adults with ADD/ADHD available at amazon.com, or smashwords.com (for e books) Living Daily With Adult ADD or ADHD: 365 Tips O the Day ( e-book). This is one tip at a time, one page at a time, at your own pace. It's meant to last a year. As a child, I was a bully. Then there was a transformation. Now I am committed to helping people instead abusing them. The Bully was published in January, 2016. It's in print or e book, on Amazon.
This entry was posted in add and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Recent Research — ADD Tip o the Day 380

  1. Pierre says:

    HI Doug, I’d just like to thank you for your book “Your life can be better”. As a 43 year old with ADD and as a father of a 7 year old with PDD NOS a form of slight autism. I’m a bit cash strapped, but managed to pick your book up on kindle. I thought it was well though out, extremely practical and that it spoke to me personally. Well done, once again!
    I was only recently diagnosed with ADD upon my wife’s insistence. I’ve always been absent minded with holes in my memory and even though I’ve got a degree in Economics from a top university, have struggled job wise. I’ve also got a short fuse and sometimes get verbally aggressive.

    RE my work history, I had to move from England to Poland to take up a job in teaching to survive. I found my niche in proofreading and translation though, and am now doing well here in Poland. At last I’ve found a job that suits me and I’ve been at it now for 5 years. As you said in your book, find sth you’re good at! My son’s diagnoses has been very tough on the family and my marriage, but we’re coping better now.
    Keep up the good work and thanks again.

    Like

    • pierrethank you for your kind note. glad the book has been helpful to you. thank you for commenting.best wishesdoug

      Your Life Can Be Better, using strategies for adult ADD/ADHD blog: addadultstrategies.wordpress.com website: addadultstrategies.com book at : amazon.com or smashwords.com (e books)

      > Date: Sun, 7 Apr 2013 15:32:30 +0000 > To: mkpdp@live.com >

      Like

Leave a Reply

