Aspirations — ADD Tip o the Day 369

Scott, one of us ADD or ADHD people, made a very nice comment on the Frazzled post and gave me permission to use it here (slightly edited for length):

“– the idea of making an aspiration in the morning and checking in at night. The aspirations suggested were more spiritual in nature. I turned it into making an aspiration in the evening right after prayers and meditation. I decided to make it easy and practical so I would have an easy success and to write it in my journal. Each night after meditation I write about the previous day’s aspiration and how it worked out and then pick one for the following day. I noticed that picking very easy aspirations was good. I felt like I was succeeding and that built up and helped the rest of the day. I also noticed that even the aspirations I “failed” at seemed to pop up a few days later as a success. They seemed to enter my subconscious and happen on their own and in their own time. So now I try to pick some little thing that might turn the day in a good direction: get up by 8:00, or exercise for at least 15 minutes, or try to remember to be present a few times during the day, or don’t turn on the computer tomorrow. I try to pick something I can succeed at and that will move the day in the direction I hope will help. I still “fail” at them, but even when that happens, it gives me a clue that maybe I’m having trouble with sleep or exercise or whatever and I am that much more conscious. This helps me see where I actually am so I can then choose what direction to move in from here.”

good strategy    – keep it simple, a few easy goalsADD,ADHD,adult ADD,adult ADHD,deficit,attention,attention deficit

doug

About doug with ADHD

I am a psychiatric physician. I learned I have ADHD at age 64, and then wrote two ADHD books for adults, focusing on strategies for making your life better. Your Life Can Be Better; strategies for adults with ADD/ADHD available at amazon.com, or smashwords.com (for e books) Living Daily With Adult ADD or ADHD: 365 Tips O the Day ( e-book). This is one tip at a time, one page at a time, at your own pace. It's meant to last a year. As a child, I was a bully. Then there was a transformation. Now I am committed to helping people instead abusing them. The Bully was published in January, 2016. It's in print or e book, on Amazon.
This entry was posted in add and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Aspirations — ADD Tip o the Day 369

  1. tina
    i’m glad this is working for you, partly. first, i would suggest two notebooks, one for the daily, which is great, and one for the other things. there are big notebooks with tabs, or you could get a 3 ring and put the tabs in. so you would be organized, which of course is key for us.

    Too many ideas and interests is us, typical add. we need strategies to cope with that. I’ll blog about it in a while (i’ll try not to procrastinate)
    i hope that scott might comment on your comment, and that you continue to make comments.
    thank you for this one.
    best wishes
    doug

    Like

  2. I like this concept…something I have started doing is keeping a spiral notebook, dating a page each day and numbering the things I accomplish, made appt with dr so and so for May 5 at 3PM, etc…called health ins company, spoke with so and so, don’t need a precert. What I have found is that I feel like I am achieving something, I have a record of specifics and can look back to find details later. I keep one section of the notebook for items I have researched, details of Verizon’s latest deal (from a phone call), and here’s where I start to go astray…I want a section for recipes or ideas I think of or hear about, a page for movies to see or books to read and then it all starts to be quite a disorganized mish mosh…though the daily page does work for me. I don’t want these items to be in a folder on the computer. I like the feel of a hard copy in my hand. And another problem is that I want to know everything and have too many ideas and interests…Any suggestions?

    Tina

    Like

Leave a Reply

