Whining — Not Really An ADD Tip of the Day 348

Well, Medicare has come out with a new set of regulations, coding and documenting, that will be adopted by all the insurance companies apparently.  The coding is very complicated; even if I didn’t have ADD I’d  have trouble understanding and using it.  I would rather spend  time with my patients trying to help them rather than in documenting everything, and I would rather spend my “free” time learning about new medicines than in  learning this complex new coding system, but I appear to have no choice.  I hate that.  (and  also, Medicare is at the same time apparently reducing the fees they will pay)

OK, everyone, all together now  – “Aww, poor baby!”

Well, I do in fact have choices:  1) I can quit practice.  I would like to imagine that I can make some money writing .  LOL?  2. ) I can refuse to take medicare patients or any insurance and only see very wealthy people who can pay out of pocket.  I would hate to do that.

Strategies : 1. Accept that it is as it is.  I cannot change it; I can only choose among the unpleasant choices.  But recognize that I do have choices.  2.  See the positives – they are hard to see in this, but the fact is I can be very grateful that I am still able to work, and especially in a job that I enjoy.  3. I can ventilate on this  blog.

If anyone has any other suggestions about positives or strategies I would be delighted to hear them.

doug    add,adhd,irritable,grouchy,living with add, livingwith adhd,coping with add, copoing with adhd,adult add,adult adhd                         

ostrich the grouch –>

not only that, i don’t like the way wordpress has changed how it handles the pictures.  (Another ADD challenge -but then it’s free)

So there!

PS  if you’re not already prepared for Christmas, have you considered ordering the book for some one with ADD or ADHD who could benefit from it? Easy to do.  Just a thought.

About doug with ADHD

I am a psychiatric physician. I learned I have ADHD at age 64, and then wrote two ADHD books for adults, focusing on strategies for making your life better. Your Life Can Be Better; strategies for adults with ADD/ADHD available at amazon.com, or smashwords.com (for e books) Living Daily With Adult ADD or ADHD: 365 Tips O the Day ( e-book). This is one tip at a time, one page at a time, at your own pace. It's meant to last a year. As a child, I was a bully. Then there was a transformation. Now I am committed to helping people instead abusing them. The Bully was published in January, 2016. It's in print or e book, on Amazon.
This entry was posted in add and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Whining — Not Really An ADD Tip of the Day 348

  1. doug says:

    debbie
    good tips..
    thanks,
    doug

    Like

  2. Betsy Davenport, PhX says:

    Learning the new coding is maybe good exercise for the brain?

    Like

  3. Debbie says:

    There are other organizations and agencies that can help your patients pay the additional
    cost which Medicare will not cover. One that I know of is AARP and AFLAC has some program that can help. Here is the link for AARP’s supplemental insurance.
    http://www.aarphealthcare.com/home.html
    Here is the link for AARP 50-65 insurance when have difficulty qualifying elsewhere. It is through Aetna. http://www.insure.com/companies/aarp-health-insurance.html
    There are probably more options available as well! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

