Time to Stop — ADD Tip o the Day 339

This is really about mindfulness and awareness – good for anyone, especially for those of us with ADD or ADHD.

I am giving up playing Freecell. There is nothing wrong with playing Freecell.   I’ve been playing  two, maybe three games a day, on my wife’s computer, since I had to take all the games off mine because of addictions.  That’s not a lot and it doesn’t take much time.  I enjoy it (when I win); it’s relaxing, and I need some breaks. But it was becoming a habit, although not an addiction (yet).   And I figured there were some better things I could do with my break time.  So a new rule – anytime I feel called to play Freecell, I will go play the guitar instead.  It’s working pretty well so far.

Only after deciding this did I become aware:  it had started as once a day; going to two or three is the path to addiction.  Freecell only takes about ten minute though.  And after all, two a day is only twenty minutes.

Twenty minutes a day, 2.33 hours a week,  9.33 hours a month, that’s over a day.  That’s 112 hours a year, about 14 days.  Do I want to spend 14 days of my life playing Freecell?

And of course, it was starting to be 3 times a day, sometimes.

I could also practice just sitting, which I haven’t been doing so well at since it got cold, or exercising, or reading something enjoyable.  Will stick with guitar for right now.  Mindfulness and awareness.

doug

ADD,ADHD,adult ADD,adult ADHD,deficit,attention

sit  clik

lynn on e mail – where do you waste your time?  clik

sitting clik here

still sitting clik here

About doug with ADHD

I am a psychiatric physician. I learned I have ADHD at age 64, and then wrote two ADHD books for adults, focusing on strategies for making your life better. Your Life Can Be Better; strategies for adults with ADD/ADHD available at amazon.com, or smashwords.com (for e books) Living Daily With Adult ADD or ADHD: 365 Tips O the Day ( e-book). This is one tip at a time, one page at a time, at your own pace. It's meant to last a year. As a child, I was a bully. Then there was a transformation. Now I am committed to helping people instead abusing them. The Bully was published in January, 2016. It's in print or e book, on Amazon.
This entry was posted in add and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Time to Stop — ADD Tip o the Day 339

  1. Pingback: Time wasters and addictions – – – ADD Tip O the Day 549 | ADDadultstrategies

  2. i think scrabble is great and if you can stick to one that would be wonderful. that means you are not addicted. also maybe it would help to have strategies to make it easier to do the other things that you need to do. anahi oritiz i think just posted about this, but i cant find it (ADD?)
    thank you for commenting! please continue to.

    Like

  3. I wish you hadn’t said that. I am slightly addicted to Scrabble on my iPhone. Every time I open a game I think about all the things I could be doing instead. I went for a while without playing and I got more done. But it’s so fun. But you’re right. I’m going to cut down to one game a day. Then maybe we’ll talk about none. But for now, one a day is a substantial time savings. That’s as good as it gets for now.

    Like

Leave a Reply

