Staying on Top — ADD Tip o the Day 322

This doesn’t apply only to ADD or ADHD:

A very good teacher is telling me that she’s thinking of leaving teaching.  She loves teaching but the pay is lousy and she hates grading papers.  She does all her grading on the weekend and it messes up her weekend and she resents it.  We talked about what she does with her spare time during the week.

The dog poop principle (from the book) – I used to clean up the dog poop in the yard once a week.  It was an unpleasant chore.  Then I started doing it every 2 or 3 days, and it became much easier.  Now I clean it up first thing every morning – it gets me outside, which is nice, and I start the day with  having accomplished something, and it is no chore at all.

Strategy  – Stay on top of it, especially if you have ADD or ADHD.

(We’ll see how it goes once winter gets here.)

doug   add, adhd,adult add,adult adhd,deficit,attention,copoign with add, coping with adhd

here’s a good post from margo on reducing stress with ADD or ADHD.  It fits right in here:

clik here

more links on this:

clik here and here

About doug with ADHD

I am a psychiatric physician. I learned I have ADHD at age 64, and then wrote two ADHD books for adults, focusing on strategies for making your life better. Your Life Can Be Better; strategies for adults with ADD/ADHD available at amazon.com, or smashwords.com (for e books) Living Daily With Adult ADD or ADHD: 365 Tips O the Day ( e-book). This is one tip at a time, one page at a time, at your own pace. It's meant to last a year. As a child, I was a bully. Then there was a transformation. Now I am committed to helping people instead abusing them. The Bully was published in January, 2016. It's in print or e book, on Amazon.
This entry was posted in add and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Staying on Top — ADD Tip o the Day 322

  1. Betsy Davenport, PhD says:

    At my house, as soon as the dog poops, it gets picked up. Anyone taking a dog outside puts plastic bags in pocket for that purpose. As for grading papers, I guess it’s like keeping accounts. I’ve always done better when I note appointments and checks received immediately, not later, or next week, or at tax time.

    Like

    • good to hear from you (have missed you)
      our dog has a doggie door, so she takes herself outside, but your system is exactly to the point for your situation- both the poop and the accounts – stay on top of it, do it now.
      poison words – “I’ll do that later.”
      thank you for commenting
      doug

      Like

  2. Maybe you can do something about it? often we have options we just haven’t thought of, or have ruled out without really considering them. then we feel trapped which is really demoralizing. anyway, have you tried meditation?
    teaching is a valuable honorable profession which does not receive the appreciation it should in this country.
    thank you for commenting.
    best wishes
    doug

    Like

  3. Funny this post should come up today just when I’m feeling pretty crap about being a teacher! Problem is, my issues relate to other staff driving me crazy. Not much I can do about that! Oh well…

    Like

Leave a Reply

