follow ups —- ADD Tip o the Day 316

I forgot to mention on the weight loss – the Ginger Chews candies after lunch and dinner.  let them dissolve in my mouth and they take away the munchy craving that persists even after I’ve eaten.

Lisa pointed out the hassles involved in getting ritalin prescriptions.  Wish I had put that in the cons and pros.  My patients call and I leave a prescription on the patio for them to pick up at their convenience.  Can write it for ahead too, like ‘may fill after Sept. 21’.

jncahill notes the bad experience her boyfriend had with ritalin – that raises the question if the diagnosis is accurate and complete.

Several people have commented on doctors getting paid for writing prescriptions.  I have never seen this and know of no examples of it.  We used to get wined and dined, and small gifts – pens, coffee cups – but we were getting rewarded for listening to promotional and educational presentations, not for writing prescriptions.  All of this has been markedly reduced by new regulations.  If you know of an example, please put it in a comment.

more on caffeine clik here

I’ve noticed that these posts are getting too long – willpower!

doug

milestones : the blog has gotten over 13000 hit now.  thank you, and thank you for comments -they’re great!

the book has just sold over 3900 copies! – I’m so pleased. Thank you!

About doug with ADHD

I am a psychiatric physician. I learned I have ADHD at age 64, and then wrote two ADHD books for adults, focusing on strategies for making your life better. Your Life Can Be Better; strategies for adults with ADD/ADHD available at amazon.com, or smashwords.com (for e books) Living Daily With Adult ADD or ADHD: 365 Tips O the Day ( e-book). This is one tip at a time, one page at a time, at your own pace. It's meant to last a year. As a child, I was a bully. Then there was a transformation. Now I am committed to helping people instead abusing them. The Bully was published in January, 2016. It's in print or e book, on Amazon.
This entry was posted in add and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to follow ups —- ADD Tip o the Day 316

  1. JD says:

    Hello Doug,
    Thanks again for your blog and book, both have been quite useful to me. Specifically on the topic of managing ADD with a drug, do you believe that most psychiatrists are open to this possibility in an adult (especially one who outwardly seems high functioning)? Is there a broad consensus in your profession that this is a reasonable diagnosis in adults, or should I attempt to identify a doctor with specific experience with adult ADD? I have been considering seeing a psychiatrist but do not want to undergo a full work-up only to find that the doctor I have chosen doesn’t believe in adult ADD or wouldn’t consider medication simply because the patient happens to be gainfully employed.

    Like

    • I am glad these have been useful to you. I don’t actually know but think that most but not all psychiatrists would acknowldege ADD in adults, but many really do not know much about it or understand it. i really recommend you find someone who is knowledgable. good luck.
      and thank you for commenting
      doug

      Like

  2. thank you again for your kind comments. Yes, i think it is for anyone on the spectrum, and hope it’s marketed that way, but don’t know how to go beyond the spectrum. best wishes
    doug

    Like

  3. OB says:

    Hello Dr. Puryear. My significant other and I have been struggling all our lives with slight issues that we just couldn’t quite put our finger on. The consequences of these started adding up and getting serious for my boyfriend – a medical resident. Upon discussion with some of his classmates, they concluded that he could possibly have ADD. We are slowly working through your book together and, though we may not be officially diagnosed with ADD/ADHD, your suggestions are tremendously helpful to both of us. I am finally understanding so much about my “downers” and why I have such a difficult time in graduate school. I am so thankful to you for having written this book, and thankful to your wife for having understood just how much your project could mean to people like us. Thank you.

    Like

    • thank you so much for the comment. It is enormously encouraging to hear how the book has helped.i think the book could be helpful to people without ADD but dont know how to market it to them.
      thank you for commenting
      best wishes
      doug

      Like

      • OB says:

        I am glad my comment has had a slight impact on your happiness, given the impact your book has had on mine. I definitely see the potential for those without ADD – say for people with ‘time management’ issues, people who feel overwhelmed by their respective ‘to do’ lists, or people entering college who have never had to manage with all the responsibilities of adults (bills, school, family, friends, etc). For what it’s worth, I like to think that many of the disorders originating in the brain are not black or white, but rather on a spectrum where some people have extreme cases of x, y or z, and people have mild symptoms. So maybe extend your audience to anyone along the “ADD/ADHD spectrum”? I, for one, am definitely passing this book onto my dad and brothers. It’ll help all of them. Thank you once again.
        All the best

        Like

Leave a Reply

