caffeine and ADD —- ADD Tip o the Day 310

Do you drink coffee?  Someone just asked me about coffee and ADD.  I had never thought about it, or read about it.  But I do know that many of us with ADD or ADHD do drink coffee, sometimes lots of it.  I used to be addicted.  My prostrate cured me of that.  Caffeine is a stimulant, and recent research suggests that it’s even good for you, at least in moderation, and maybe if you don’t have high blood pressure, heart disease, anxiety or panic attacks. With those last two it’s poison.  So it makes sense that it might be helpful for ADD or ADHD.  (and it’s “natural”).

doug    add,adhd,adult add, adult adhd,deficit, attention

Many people don’t think about the caffeine in tea, sodas, chocolate, and even in decaf coffee, but it’s there.  Depends on how much you use.  When I was addicted it would make me even more hyper and irritable, but I think I did focus better.

bonus blog: on productivity and it’s lack clik here

About doug with ADHD

I am a psychiatric physician. I learned I have ADHD at age 64, and then wrote two ADHD books for adults, focusing on strategies for making your life better. Your Life Can Be Better; strategies for adults with ADD/ADHD available at amazon.com, or smashwords.com (for e books) Living Daily With Adult ADD or ADHD: 365 Tips O the Day ( e-book). This is one tip at a time, one page at a time, at your own pace. It's meant to last a year. As a child, I was a bully. Then there was a transformation. Now I am committed to helping people instead abusing them. The Bully was published in January, 2016. It's in print or e book, on Amazon.
This entry was posted in add. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to caffeine and ADD —- ADD Tip o the Day 310

  1. Betsy Davenport, PhD says:

    Long before I learned I have ADD, and when espresso became de rigeur, workmates would go get a double latte in the afternoon for a pick-me-up. I got one because it tasted good. Didn’t pick me up. I could drink coffee after dinner and go to sleep as usual. It made sense when I discovered stimulant medication. It woke up my brain a bit, but not too much. At all.

    Like

    • boy, again each one of us is different. I’m getting comments from people who do find that caffeine works as an ADD stimulant for them. I used to drink real coffee just before bedtime and then go to sleep, now if i even have a cup of decaf after 8pm i won’t sleep. maybe i have a bad conscience?
      thank you again for your great comments
      doug

      Like

      • Betsy Davenport, PhD says:

        Get this: when my daughter was little, we discovered her favorite yogurt was Dannon’s Coffee. It was made with real coffee, not decaffeinated. My mother gave me flak for giving a toddler caffeine, but I didn’t think much about it until some years later when the ADD kicked in, and it occurred to me it might have been a self medicating kind of thing. Who knows?

        Like

  2. It’s starting to make sense.
    Thanks for commenting.
    doug

    Like

  3. I drink a STACK of tea though I hate the taste of coffee and won’t touch it. I used to have my older students trained in the UK to bring me cups of tea throughout the day so I would end up drinking around 10 a day. Here in Bangladesh I drink less – perhaps only 5 or 6 but it is very strong and highly sugared. Very different to english tea but essential to keep going in the heat here. I suspect my ADHD and the love of tea are no coincidence!

    Like

Leave a Reply

