Numbers, numbsers, numners!! — ADD Tip o the Day 289

Well, I type letters better than I type numbers, or dial them (or write them down).  With my ADD (or ADHD), I need to carefully double check when I write down a phone number or when I dial one.  Especially long distance, odds are against me getting that many numbers right.

I just renewed car registration online, 5% off.  But I had to type in my registration number – a combination of 17 letters and numbers!  Guess how many tries that took!

And when you’re copying something, like to fill in a form, how do you know if it’s a number zero or a letter O?

the only strategies I know are to try to avoid doing these things whenever possible, to carefully check everything (for accuracy and legibility), and to have a phone where you can see the number you entered before you press ‘talk’ to actually dial it. 

And now that I’m learning the i phone it will dial a number for me if it’s in the contact list, and I can record a number in the voice memo instead of trying to write it down.

doug     add,adhd,adult add,adult adhd,living with add,living with adhd,help for add,help for adhd

thank you everyone for commenting.  I wish I could figure how to get the comments to show below the post.  As is, you go all the way to the bottom and in the fine print clik ‘comments’ if you see a number by it-

like this:

 Posted in add|Tagged , , , , , , , , |          8 Comments|   Edit

About doug with ADHD

I am a psychiatric physician. I learned I have ADHD at age 64, and then wrote two ADHD books for adults, focusing on strategies for making your life better. Your Life Can Be Better; strategies for adults with ADD/ADHD available at amazon.com, or smashwords.com (for e books) Living Daily With Adult ADD or ADHD: 365 Tips O the Day ( e-book). This is one tip at a time, one page at a time, at your own pace. It's meant to last a year. As a child, I was a bully. Then there was a transformation. Now I am committed to helping people instead abusing them. The Bully was published in January, 2016. It's in print or e book, on Amazon.
This entry was posted in add and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Numbers, numbsers, numners!! — ADD Tip o the Day 289

  1. that’s a strategy!! enter 2 #s at a time and cover the others. ideally, we do need to find jobs taht capitalize on our strengths and minimize our weaknesses. good luck.
    thank you for commenting
    doug

    Like

  2. Tara Kennedy says:

    Sometimes on my job I hae to type in Credit card #s. The ONLY way I can do this is by covering the other #s and entering in 2 # at a time, slowly. If I have several items at the cash register I double check before pressing subtotal. Needless to say, I am interviewing for another job because my best efforts to do the daily tasks at the busy airport sandwhich shop (and prep center for sister resteraunts) is that I am too slow. Even with Starbucks in my system, lol. And on bad days I have too many voids on my register. Fast yes-acurate…not so much.

    Like

Leave a Reply

