Being and ADD —- ADD Tip o the day 269

I’m trying a new discipline (strategy, skill) which is quite difficult with ADD or ADHD, of just being three times a day.  I will sit and just be for a few minutes.  This is not meditation, which requires not getting involved with my thoughts, nor awareness or mindfullness, which require paying attention to what is going on.  Nope, it’s just being.  Hopefully that giant internal fly wheel that drives me will slow down.  Anyway, it will interesting, I hope beneficial, and challenging.  It may replenish willpower?  Although clearly it will use up some willpower.  I’ll post a report later on. 

Does anyone have experience with this?  Suggestions?

doug       add, adhd, coping with add, coping with adhd, living with add, living with adhd, strategies for add, strategies for adhd

i just found this on amazon- it says that just sitting is not meditation.  a whole book on it.

clik here and here

i am soliciting suggestions for topics.  Anyone?  thank you one and all

About doug with ADHD

I am a psychiatric physician. I learned I have ADHD at age 64, and then wrote two ADHD books for adults, focusing on strategies for making your life better. Your Life Can Be Better; strategies for adults with ADD/ADHD available at amazon.com, or smashwords.com (for e books) Living Daily With Adult ADD or ADHD: 365 Tips O the Day ( e-book). This is one tip at a time, one page at a time, at your own pace. It's meant to last a year. As a child, I was a bully. Then there was a transformation. Now I am committed to helping people instead abusing them. The Bully was published in January, 2016. It's in print or e book, on Amazon.
This entry was posted in add and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Being and ADD —- ADD Tip o the day 269

  1. Pingback: Resume, Recoup, Retry with ADHD — ADD Tip O the Day 697 | ADDadultstrategies

  2. this is encouraraging. i will let you know in a future post. thank you for the comment

    Like

  3. Scott Marckx says:

    Hi Doug,
    A topic that I would be interested in is strategies for getting regular exercise. That has always been a tough one for me, especially with the issues of taking the time when there are always “more important” things to do, but on the other hand, the realization that if I exercised regularly I would be more able (mentally and physically) to do those other things, (theoretically). Also the whole balance of exercise and depression/tiredness…

    Thank you!

    Like

  4. Scott Marckx says:

    Hi Doug,
    I’m curious about how this works out for you. I’ve had “places” in the past, (like staring out the window at the back yard in our old house) where I just stared and didn’t really even think much. I don’t know if this is what “just being” is or not, but it was helpful to me. Like the secret place mentioned in Forrest Carter’s “The Education of Little Tree”. Also, a good friend gave me a set of CDs called “Getting Unstuck” by Pema Chodron when I told him I might be ADD and said they had been very helpful to him. They have been extremely helpful to me and I feel like they will grow on me even more as time goes by. I’m new at this ADD stuff and new at meditation/mindfulness and this just being has got me very curious. Thank you!

    Like

Leave a Reply

