Willpower 4 3/4 —– ADD TIp o the day 268

I’m also reading Kahneman’s Thinking, Fast and Slow. It’s difficult but rewarding, crammed full of interesting information about how we think, decide, choose and act. Lots of it ahs application to ADD or ADHD.  There’s almost too much information and it doesn’t seem well organized. The main focus is on how we’re influenced in ways we are not aware of, which is kind of scary, but it’s more than that. His points are backed up by experiments, not just theories.  Willpower is addressed, how we use it up and get weaker and more vulnerable.  One of the problems of modern life is that we are beset by too many options, and each time we make a choice our willpower and our judgement are diminished for the next choice (think of a supermarket, for example).

I couldn’t hold my questions til I finished (impulsive, impatient), so I e mailed him, and he graciously referred me to Baumeister’s Willpower (which refers us to Adam’s Getting It Done).

I still have questions: if glucose replenishes my willpower, why am I unable to stop after one cookie? (probably because I’ve eaten the second one (and the third) before the glucose has time to kick in?)

Some of the implications are that I need to monitor my level of willpower, and minimize decisions (by making habits, for example), and watch my blood alcohol level.

Alcohol also diminishes our willpower-and judgement and restraint:

One margarita is never enough.

Two margaritas is too many.

Three margaritas is never enough.

doug        add, adhd, coping with add, coping with adhd, living with add, living with adhd, strategies

Did you happen to notice that this post is crammed with information and not well organized?  There is just too much in the book to tell you about.  I recommend you read it. 

ps Kahneman is a Nobel Prize winner.

About doug with ADHD

I am a psychiatric physician. I learned I have ADHD at age 64, and then wrote two ADHD books for adults, focusing on strategies for making your life better. Your Life Can Be Better; strategies for adults with ADD/ADHD available at amazon.com, or smashwords.com (for e books) Living Daily With Adult ADD or ADHD: 365 Tips O the Day ( e-book). This is one tip at a time, one page at a time, at your own pace. It's meant to last a year. As a child, I was a bully. Then there was a transformation. Now I am committed to helping people instead abusing them. The Bully was published in January, 2016. It's in print or e book, on Amazon.
This entry was posted in add and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Willpower 4 3/4 —– ADD TIp o the day 268

  1. Pingback: Willpower #2 (or not)— ADD Tip O the Day 683 | ADDadultstrategies

  2. Lisa Livezey Comingore says:

    Interesting! I’m very intrigued by the whole “willpower” thing, particularly because I seem to have very little!

    Like

    • Anonymous says:

      it is a puzzlement. do we really have little willpower or does ADD just make it look that way? thank you for commenting!

      Like

Leave a Reply

