Some more dys’s —- ADD Tip o the day 265

I needed to be in Santa Rosa at 11:30 AM.  It’s a one and a half hour drive.  What time do I need to leave?  Isn’t that obvious?  Why do I have so much trouble with it, have to go thru all kinds of gyrations and perturbations and permutations to figure it out?  Has to be dyscalcula. But it’s also related to time.  It’s dyschronologica, too.

And daylight savings time.  I know, spring forward fall back, but what actually happens?  Will it be lighter or darker when I get up?  Have to stop and struggle to figure it out every time.  Have all kinds of issues about time – judging it, using it, predicting how long something will take, etc.  Dyschronologica?

And why am I having so much trouble with facebook (for example)?  Why did my blog posts show up on my facebook page until number 264 and suddenly stop showing up?  Why can’t I figure it out and fix it?  Must be dystechnologica.

These dys’s- dyscalcula, dyschronologica, and dystechnologica- are not part of ADD or ADHD but we have a high frequency of them.  need strategies.

Doug

 

and why did i mess up this picture?? dyspostfotographia?

add problems, adhd problems, living with add, add, coping with add, living with adhd, coping with adhd, add, adhd

About doug with ADHD

I am a psychiatric physician. I learned I have ADHD at age 64, and then wrote two ADHD books for adults, focusing on strategies for making your life better. Your Life Can Be Better; strategies for adults with ADD/ADHD available at amazon.com, or smashwords.com (for e books) Living Daily With Adult ADD or ADHD: 365 Tips O the Day ( e-book). This is one tip at a time, one page at a time, at your own pace. It's meant to last a year. As a child, I was a bully. Then there was a transformation. Now I am committed to helping people instead abusing them. The Bully was published in January, 2016. It's in print or e book, on Amazon.
This entry was posted in add. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Some more dys’s —- ADD Tip o the day 265

  1. Oh, I’m just laughing about daylight savings!! Can’t count the hours I’ve spent over my lifetime attempting to visualize what happens and wrap my head around it.
    And yes, there are so many overlaps (all the dys’s!). I found an interesting site which nicely explores some of this – and also rests on the useful foundation of “social disability.” There is a wonderful graphic on the page I’ve linked to. http://www.danda.org.uk/pages/neuro-diversity.php
    Rebecca, I appreciate your distinction between regret and self-criticism. Perhaps I can squeeze down the distinction a bit more – for me at least: It’s a kind of nostalgia for what might have been, rather than regret, which I usually associate with an action taken rather than with one that not taken. And indeed, it’s not about beating oneself up. I’ve stopped mentioning it as well because of that common reaction.

    Like

    • thank you for the good link, i just glanced at it (ADD) so far, but it looks like i may have all of the above – a little scary. thank you also for the nostalgia idea, anything less negative is a good thing. and, thank you for commenting. it is nice to add and clarify as we go.

      Like

  2. Betsy Davenport, PhD says:

    You’re maybe getting tired of my commenting on everything, but i really get satisfaction out of thinking about AD/HD and there is already in this relatively young field more dogma than novel thinking. When I read your posts I keep thinking, “Cognitive, cognitive.” We have to be vigilant that we don’t do to ourselves and our fellow sufferers what the world has done for so long: misattribute the habits of mind which emanate from a nonstandard cognitive process to flaws in character or moral failings.

    I have experienced so much regret over the years for what I was unable to do even though it usually seemed I could, if only I actually could (which I couldn’t). Usually if I voice this regret, someone admonishes me not to be so hard on myself. But regret is not criticism, and their failure to grasp the difference is disappointing and it intensifies the isolation of being different and misunderstood. But whether or not others get it, I have found it invaluable to make these distinctions for myself.

    Like

  3. Debbie says:

    Hi! It’s all in what you are paying attention to! It is when you focus on what you do well and not the technology that is overwhelming you. When you pay attention to all this negative junk that shuts you down, then we won’t see you on Facebook sharing your wonderful gifts with us! Try it and stop calling attention to your ADHD because you don’t have it 24/7 anyways and it’s not who you are, but life sure isn’t boring is it?! Lol As for your photo of the rose, try taking it from a side angle to give it more perspective.

    Like

    • thanks for the encouragement. it is hard not to focus on the negative when i can’t get the @#$$#@%^@& thing to work, so my writing (which i like to think i’m good at), is wasted because i cant post it. but i can get it out in some venues so maybe i can relax about the others. thank you for commenting.

      Like

Leave a Reply

