– ADD Tip o the day 249

Bonnie Mincu’s blog came up with a concept new to me, that some of us ADDers or ADHDers think that using a calender is a cop out.  They pride themself on their memory.  Would this fit this any of my gentle readers?

I can’t imagine living without the appointment book.  And Bonnie gives good tips on not using more than one book or you’ll cause problems (I have done this!), so it has to have big enough slots to hold a lot of info, and on how to use electronic ones.    For Bonnie’s blog, clik here (haven’t been able to get the current one)

doug   

including below a moving e mail (edited) from a reader:add, adhd, coping with add, coping with adhd, help for add, help for adhd,

 

 please forgive my spelling mistakes or strange words. I’m  34,  just getting diagnosed with ADHD.  I’ve been labelled a failure, a screw up and a disappointment all my life, despite being told at the same time that I’m incredibly bright and even winning prizes.  I’ve always been labelled with Anxiety (which is also probably true) but recently my wife was sent a course for the spouses of lunatics and we began to realise that I fitted all the criteria for ADHD. every time I read something about ADHD I feel like I’m reading about myself: I injured myself with excercise the way you did; I have almost the same employment history as Mr.L.

 My luck breaks are that I came across the right information at the right time, found the right job (although I still have to stop myself quitting every six months) and your book. I’m waiting for my appointment with the psychiatrist, but I remain hopeful and your book has really helped me.
J

About doug with ADHD

I am a psychiatric physician. I learned I have ADHD at age 64, and then wrote two ADHD books for adults, focusing on strategies for making your life better. Your Life Can Be Better; strategies for adults with ADD/ADHD available at amazon.com, or smashwords.com (for e books) Living Daily With Adult ADD or ADHD: 365 Tips O the Day ( e-book). This is one tip at a time, one page at a time, at your own pace. It's meant to last a year. As a child, I was a bully. Then there was a transformation. Now I am committed to helping people instead abusing them. The Bully was published in January, 2016. It's in print or e book, on Amazon.
This entry was posted in add and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

