Help — ADD Tip o the day 109

As you may know, I am trying to cope with ADD.  I need a lot of help.  For example, when I pack for a trip, I always forget something, razor, or socks, or medicine or something.  So my wife helps me. Did you pack this? Did you pack that? Have you forgotten the other? This is help I clearly need, but sometimes it feels a little oppressive, and sometimes it feels like she sees me as incompetent, which I have been proven to be.  So I don’t always respond well to this help.

strategies:

1. I am making a check list so hopefully I won’t forget to pack things in the future, and will be more competent.

2. I am going to remind myself that I really do need the help and that I need to appreciate it, and try to act accordingly.

3. I am asking my wife if we can figure out a way she can help that makes it easier for me to react better.  

I think this combination will work.

doug

The proofreader let me know that he got the book but I haven’t heard anymore from him.  Is this a bad sign or am I just showing my ADD ADHD impatience?

About doug with ADHD

I am a psychiatric physician. I learned I have ADHD at age 64, and then wrote two ADHD books for adults, focusing on strategies for making your life better. Your Life Can Be Better; strategies for adults with ADD/ADHD available at amazon.com, or smashwords.com (for e books) Living Daily With Adult ADD or ADHD: 365 Tips O the Day ( e-book). This is one tip at a time, one page at a time, at your own pace. It's meant to last a year. As a child, I was a bully. Then there was a transformation. Now I am committed to helping people instead abusing them. The Bully was published in January, 2016. It's in print or e book, on Amazon.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Help — ADD Tip o the day 109

  1. Just Deb says:

    It’s your ADD impatience – remember things happen in God’s time, not ours 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

