Focus — ADD Tip o the day 101

I just did it again!-hit the big backspace key when I meant to hit the little delete key.  Erased what I wanted to keep and still have what I wanted to erase.  Why do I keep doing that?

Because I’m not focused, or rather, because I’m focused on what I’m writing and not on the typing.  So, since I’m typing a lot, and this is pretty frustrating, I need to make a project of paying attention to the delete key.  I can focus on it if I commit to making th effort.  So a person with ADD or ADHD can type, it just takes more effort. 

      Part of the problem is that I’m also moving the cursor but forgetting to hit the pad to set it there, so when I insert something it’s going into the wrong place, more frustration. I’m trying to remember to HIT the pad, not just move the cursor. But that means I’m working on two projects at once, the delete key and the cursor.  I’ll do better if I focus on just the delete key til I get it down, then start trying to cope with  the pad hitting. 

During the typing of this blog so far I have made each of those mistakes once, even while I’m writing about them! 

Look at the delete key when I need to use it, that’s the rule I’m going to try.  Need to make it a habit.

doug

About doug with ADHD

I am a psychiatric physician. I learned I have ADHD at age 64, and then wrote two ADHD books for adults, focusing on strategies for making your life better. Your Life Can Be Better; strategies for adults with ADD/ADHD available at amazon.com, or smashwords.com (for e books) Living Daily With Adult ADD or ADHD: 365 Tips O the Day ( e-book). This is one tip at a time, one page at a time, at your own pace. It's meant to last a year. As a child, I was a bully. Then there was a transformation. Now I am committed to helping people instead abusing them. The Bully was published in January, 2016. It's in print or e book, on Amazon.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Focus — ADD Tip o the day 101

  1. Pingback: Homey’s 10 ADD ADHD Strategies — ADD Tip o the Day 553 | ADDadultstrategies

  2. Lucy says:

    Well, I was just enjoying the thought of throwing a party & dancing in the
    street (or doing my jogging in front of the tv) in celebration of BLOG #100.
    Then came blog 101- with all of the beating up of self & commanding ones self
    to FOCUS FOCUS FOCUS on what mistakes you are making.
    Note to author: move away from the computer.
    Look out the window
    Think a positive thought
    Look at your pictures
    ENJOY (book or no book)

    Like

    • thanks, good comment. go ahead and dance though, cause the typing is getting better and reduces the frustration a lot. the trick is to focus on just one thing at a time-ie the delete key, not to beat up on myself, which doesn’t help anything

      Like

Leave a Reply

