Stay ahead — ADD Tip o the day 92

The other day I noticed I was quite a bit ahead on my to do things, and how good it felt, comfortable and relaxed.

The next day was the opposite, I was behind and feeling kind of pressured and overloaded.  I looked at my to do list.  there were several things on there that could easily wait til the next day, although I do like to say ahead.  but I was feeling behind, not ahead, so I crossed them off the list.  I felt comfortable and relaxed again.  I believe that I am more efficient and effective in this state, and actually get more done than when I am pushing and rushing.  possibly that’s not accurate and I’m rationalizing, but I choose to believe it.

strategy:  shorten the list!

doug

new pictures!!!

About doug with ADHD

I am a psychiatric physician. I learned I have ADHD at age 64, and then wrote two ADHD books for adults, focusing on strategies for making your life better. Your Life Can Be Better; strategies for adults with ADD/ADHD available at amazon.com, or smashwords.com (for e books) Living Daily With Adult ADD or ADHD: 365 Tips O the Day ( e-book). This is one tip at a time, one page at a time, at your own pace. It's meant to last a year. As a child, I was a bully. Then there was a transformation. Now I am committed to helping people instead abusing them. The Bully was published in January, 2016. It's in print or e book, on Amazon.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Stay ahead — ADD Tip o the day 92

  1. Lucy says:

    Love that!! The advantage of a short list is that you can always
    add on, if you have finished & feel so inclined.(at least that’s how
    I trick(?) myself). Still, it is helpful to relieve the stress.
    Wonder how a psychiatrist would respond: A list is only a
    piece of paper/letters on a tech device

    Like

    • thank you for the comment! we trick ourselves all the time, so it is good to be aware of it and do it usefully, by our own intention. Maybe a list is more than that, sometimes they seem to havea life of their own, and a lot of power. we need to be in charge of our lists rather than letting them be in charge of us.

      Like

Leave a Reply

