Detour: the door —Tip o the day 34

I want to finish diagnosis but my last post got messed up and it didn’t get published in the right order, and you need to read diagnosis 2.5 before you read diagnosis 3, or maybe not.

AND- I had a triumph.  I finally got the new insulation installed under the office door after a long procrasination.  a) I thought I had to take the door off the hinges which was going to be a big hassle.  b) I wasn’t sure that I could do the job right.  Therefore, procrastination.

Once I took the screws out of the plate, I didn’t have to take the door off the hinges, and the job was much easier than I expected.  had to go back to the garage four times for various tools and supplies, but no big deal-that’s typical.   One of the secrets was my new portable drill, which doesn’t need an extension cord and has gadgets- a screwdriver is built in & you don’t need a key to change drill bits.   I usually have bought the cheap tools and materials, partly because I’m cheap and partly because I figured nothing I tried to do was going to come out right anyway.  Also if I didnt have the right tool for the job I would make do with some other tool – it is possible to drive a nail in with a pair of pliers.  This drill made the whole job a lot easier. 

Strategy: get good tools and materials.  Get what you need.

next post will be diagnosis 3- hope these are publishing now.

doug

About doug with ADHD

I am a psychiatric physician. I learned I have ADHD at age 64, and then wrote two ADHD books for adults, focusing on strategies for making your life better. Your Life Can Be Better; strategies for adults with ADD/ADHD available at amazon.com, or smashwords.com (for e books) Living Daily With Adult ADD or ADHD: 365 Tips O the Day ( e-book). This is one tip at a time, one page at a time, at your own pace. It's meant to last a year. As a child, I was a bully. Then there was a transformation. Now I am committed to helping people instead abusing them. The Bully was published in January, 2016. It's in print or e book, on Amazon.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

