Piddling, Dithering, and Procrastinating — ADD Tip o the Day 470 some other post

With ADD ADHD, we know it’s hard to get started, to get to something, especially if it might be difficult or unpleasant.  Right?  And we can find ourselves involved in all kinds of distractions – piddling.

Now I’m retired; it’s time to get to work on marketing the ADD ADHD books.  But, I’m just doing a lot of little things, some are total wastes of time and some aren’t, but they’re not getting the job done.  I’ve been collecting tips on marketing from the net for years, have a ton of information.  But I’m still working on saving tips; I’m not DOING it.

Dithering, going around in circles doing nothing at all,  feeling overwhelmed and can’t figure out where to start; at least I’m not doing that. Not quite.

I need to pick A FEW priorities by best guess (don’t have to be sure of  The Best Ones) and just start doing those. So I’ve got one book registered on Bookdaily.com and I’ve started writing a magazine article and I’m  asking  for help.

Strategies:  Pick a few priories to create small steps instead of a huge project, and just start.  Ask for help.  Write about it. See that I can only do a few things at one time; can’t do them all.

SO:  Please comment; what are your suggestions for marketing the books?  I know about Attitude and Attention! magazines, are there others?  How can I get more reviews?  What else?

Thanks

doug        

Bookdaily  clik

add,adhd,adult add,adult adhd, attention, deficit, procrastinate,procrastinating,strategy

There is hope!

Excellent post on procrastination  (so good I’d almost think they got it from the book)      clik here

on using a ADD ADHD coach clik here

Why call it PRO crastination?  There’s nothing pro about it!

[L. crastinus of to-morrow, from cras to-morrow.]

About addadultstrategies

I am a psychiatric physician. Learned I have ADD at age 64 My book: Your Life Can Be Better strategies for adults with ADD available at amazon.com or smashwords.com (for e books)
This entry was posted in add, ADD problems or symptoms, ADD strategies, distraction, procrastination, strategies and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Piddling, Dithering, and Procrastinating — ADD Tip o the Day 470 some other post

  1. mommaadd says:

    I’m sorry I’m not providing marketing strategies. I’m venting. I fell off the wagon. Where does the motivation, the spark, come from to form the habits, make the lists, etc. One interesting idea (hoya plants currently) and I’m not looking at my list or my calendar.. I’m not working, not cleaning – I’m piddling around garden shops and online for hoya care. I’m mad at myself.
    Doug, I will try to think of some marketing strategies for your book.

    Like

  2. homemakersdaily says:

    Doug: I’m reviewing your book on my blog on Wednesday if that’s okay. If you want to see the article before it appears, let me know and I can email it to you.

    Like

  3. Pingback: Piddling, Dithering, and Procrastinating | adult ADD or ADHD, 365 Tips o the Day

  4. homey – good ideas. i post on facebook but dont know how to start a page. or do I already have one???
    will consider your suggestions- wonder if i could write a little booklet on ADD and have that as a giveaway, what do you think?
    i would LOVE for you to do a review. if you hate doing them, maybe if you look at your comments here, is there something you could just paste?
    thanks
    doug

    Like

  5. homemakersdaily says:

    I do procrastinate . . . and piddle. In fact, I love to piddle. I complain often that my life is so busy I don’t have time to piddle and I need to. But how do you get on track when your day gets hi-jacked. I was expecting a nice, quiet day all by myself today. I had some plans but I was going to accomplish them at whatever pace I wanted to. I even thought about doing a little fun shopping. So I slept in and took my time getting out of bed. Then I got the call. My daughter-in-law was diagnosed with bpd several months ago and is struggling with the new medication. It’s causing her a LOT of problems including extreme fatigue and flu-like symptoms. She needed me. So I put my plans on hand, hurried through my shower & got ready to go over there to help with the kids. Then she texted me that she was going to be ok. We talked a little more and decided I would go over for lunch. I had about half an hour before I left for lunch and I managed to get the house straightened up (I had to choose between grocery list & house and house won – I made the right choice). After lunch, I came back home, made my grocery list and went to the store. Then I was paralyzed. My day had been derailed and I couldn’t get back on track. I know my born organized husband would just pick up where he left off or just pick something to do next but I can’t seem to do that. When my day gets too far off course, I’m done. I did get the grocery shopping done which was a big thing. And the laundry is underway. But now I can’t get moving.

    Like

    • homey – yes, me too. i need the day planned, and when the unexpected happens – dont we need to expect that?- i’m thrown.
      here’s a possible strategy – could you call your organized husband and ask him to suggest what to do next?
      i think i just look at my to do list and pick one and start again – will only work if the list is short (5 or less).
      could you make a backup plan each week of something easy to do, and commit to doing that if you get off track? it would get you moving. you could post it somewhere.
      thank you for your great comments
      doug

      Like

  6. homemakersdaily says:

    I’ve actually been thinking about reviewing your first book on my blog. I have quite a few readers with ADHD and they would really benefit from the book. I’ve been thinking about it for a while but hadn’t done it yet (what’s that called? procrastination?). Actually I hate writing book reviews and that’s one reason.

    But that’s an idea – contact bloggers whose blogs relate to ADHD issues and ask if they would review the book. You could also do a giveaway of the book(s) to give it some attention. Publicize it on facebook and twitter.

    Have you thought about starting a facebook page or a facebook group to promote discussion? I know you like getting comments here but you might get more response there.

    You could also start an affiliate program (I haven’t done it so I don’t know how) where people get something for promoting your book on their site. Lots of bloggers do that – both promote and offer something to be promoted.

    Like

Leave a Reply

