Comorbid: Dyslexia et al — ADD Tip o the day 261

With ADD or ADHD we are more likely to have learning problems – dyslexia, dyscalcula, dysgraphia.  I have a touch of each.  These are not actually part of ADD or ADHD, they just seem to frequently travel together.

I read well but retain little unless i make a special effort, for example, stop frequently and ask myself what I just read.  In college, i could sometimes figure out the complex formula but then miss the problem because of a simple addition error, learned to always check my math.   I have trouble dialing a phone correctly or recording a phone number.  Anything that requires entering a long string of numbers gives me a lot of grief, always need to check to see if got it right.  And my handwriting , oh my, but amazingly improved when i learned to slow down and to pay attention to each letter, especially l’s , e’s and r’s.

so there are strategies for each of these problems.  there are also coaches especially trained in reading problems.

doug                                                                                  add, adhd, coping with add, living with add, life with add, help for add, coping with adhd, living with adhd, help for adhd

reading tips clik here

more reading tips  clik here

my previous stuff on reading  clik here

proud of myself– learned links!

About addadultstrategies

I am a psychiatric physician. Learned I have ADD at age 64 My book: Your Life Can Be Better strategies for adults with ADD available at amazon.com or smashwords.com (for e books)
This entry was posted in add and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

